Another Long Trek on the Long Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota
August 9th 2007
Published: August 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Minnesota

Duluth, Edge of the Wilderness scenic drive,

My trek from Duluth through Minnesota was punctuated by the Edge of the Wilderness scenic drive (north of Grand Rapids on highway 38), which was supposed to have eagles and lots of other cool stuff to see. Unfortunately, at the first sign post, I got a mosquito bite, and decided that I could read the sign from the car. The next one was a more interesting sign, which I had to get out of the car to read, and got more mosquito bites, so decided to not hike a bit, which I would have liked, but I didn't want to put DEET on and be sticky for the next 2-3 days until I could get a shower. So, I just had to press on.

A note on radio stations. Minnesota doesn't offer much on the radio. There are many Christian stations, Fox news stations, and weird music stations. I did find one NPR station, but it would report the news at the top of the hour, then switch to classical music for 2 hours. Ack! At least it wasn't "Car Talk" or "Prairie Home Companion"!

Instead of heading to International Falls, which would have been on the wrong side of Canada for me), I drove on to a pindot checkpoint north of Warroad, which was unnamed on the map (but I found out was called Sprague once I flipped the atlas to the Manitoba page) and seemed like it may not have the 1.5 hour wait I had at Sarnia. I was right. I just drove up, the friendly border guard talked to me a few minutes, then waved me on. That was so much easier.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.2035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb