Visit with brother Dave and on to MT


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Winona
June 3rd 2009
Published: June 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


May 31, Sunday

The second bag was not utilized, though the 20 degree Go Lite bag was just hanging on to the “keep me warm” amount by a few feathers. Definitely NOT a true 20 degree rating, and I may have to ship it home and buy a different bag. Harrumph. I’m going to see if I can live with it across the northern plains because from BC we’ll be heading south down the coast, and then across the southern roads of AZ and NM to the National in Tennessee. I’ll have time to decide what to do prior to getting to the Maritime Provinces. A lazy arising, a slow packup, and on the way to visit my brother David and family a few short hours away in Zumbro Falls MN. This has always sounded like a place Dr. Suess would write about. Can’t you just see some crazy legged, slightly hairy, pink and yellow creatures with cowlicks hanging about in the tree branches overlooking the creek? Come to think of it.......A long stop for two Americanos in Winona, and a chance to catch up on the blog and the email since there was no cell connection at the rally site. After this, a little more riding to Dave's house where he and wife Sue were working in the big garden plot out front. Dave took me on a dirt bike tour of Camp Victory, we saw deer running around, and many of the cabins and buildings that he's been instrumental in getting constructed. A nice beef stew meal this evening, and to bed at a reasonable time after visiting with his family.

June 1, Monday

I said goodbye to David and suited up for a rather chilly departure. I turned north on the county road, and it soon turned into a construction area, the road all gravel. I chatted with the stop/slow sign lady, who said " I can't believe you're trying to ride a bike through here". With thoughts of that Iowa mud road in mind, I asked how far it was. She said just around the second bend, so when it was my turn, I continued on intrepidly, and only ran into some deeper than normal gravel, but no mud. On to the hard top, and on my way westbound aiming for US 12 out of Minnesota and into South Dakota. Once abeam Aberdeen, I found my way to Richmond Lake State Recreation Area, one of only three campers there. It's on a lake, and fills up for the weekends, but is pretty empty during the week. I met the campground host, Bob, and we had a nice chat over my fire in the evening.

June 2, Tuesday

Another very chilly night, and after a shower I got an invite for breakfast from Bob. Sausage, eggs and toast, then I finished packing the tent and got on my way. Bob had noticed that I was missing a bolt from the recently replaced rear mud flap. I stopped at the Aberdeen Sport Recreation shop, and they gave me a non-bmw replacement bolt for free. Temps never got above 60, and after about an hour and a half, I got out the electric wiring and plugged in my Gerbings jacket. Wind was strong all morning long, and after a 1:00 coffee stop, it began to abate a bit. Rolling into North Dakota, the terrain began to become the badland type. I had a deja vue moment when I pulled into Miles City, Montana. I realized I'd been there before, but from a different direction. I stayed here, in the same hotel, last year in July after the Gillette rally. Ironically, I was heading for Canada then also. I took advantage of the hot tub and pool, had a Chinese buffet dinner, and watched a little TV.

June 3, Wednesday

On the road again hoping to avoid the rain showers displayed on the weather channel this morning that were right along the edge of my route. I had been thinking of taking the Beartooth Pass into Yellowstone, but the reports indicated 3 days worth of rain and highs of 45 degrees. Comparing that to the 80 to 90 degrees in the Okanagan Valley, BC I decided that since I have nothing to prove, I'd head north and west to warmer, dryer climes. I turned north after a short run along the interstate westbound from Miles City, and a few moments of light rain that barely wet the pavement, then aimed for Helena, and Kalispell. What beautiful country along here, mountains, huge meadows, lakes interspersed throughout, and the smell of hay and pines mixed up with the occasional sickeningly sweet smell of the Ethanol Fuel "Distilleries". Phew. A few miles south of Kalispell MT, I pulled in to the NF campground at Swan Lake. Another pretty campground, this time with about 30 sites in two loops, and I was one of about three campers here also. This time it cost $14 per night. As the sun dropped below the mountain, the temperature dropped even faster. It had gone from a low of mid 40 to a high of 60 this day, and I was guessing it was going to drop even further tonight so I broke out the long underwear and went to bed.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0783s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb