The Beginning


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » St. Paul
August 7th 2009
Published: August 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, this is it. I leave tomorrow morning at the crack of dawn. I have some last minute packing to do, a few friends to say goodbye to, and some naps to take before my 7 am flight tomorrow morning. Then, after 3 flights and approximately 21 hours of travel time, I will be: tired, most likely cranky, have swollen feet and flat hair, but otherwise safe and sound in Ghana. This is when a change of clothes may be required since it is most likely about 80-85 degrees there and is only bound to get hotter.

Wooo so I make it to Ghana. Once I am there, I am apparently held up in a hotel for a few days for orientation before I am let loose on the city of Accra. I really have zero expectations. And by zero I mean I do expect that I will feel slightly alone and go through some culture shock, but I am assuming the 49 other students on this trip with me just might feel the same way. But you never can tell.

The time difference is a little more complicated between here and Ghana. As far as I am aware of, Ghana is in the GMT (Greenwich Mean Time) Zone and there is no daylight savings... which means, during the winter, Ghana is six hours ahead of CT, and in the summer, it's only five hours ahead. It'll make for some interesting middle of the night phone calls I'm sure.

Well, I look forward to sharing my adventures with you. Hopefully I will hear from you sometime... I should have regular access to internet, but it may be slightly variable. If you have skype and want to chat, look me up. I also have a mailing address if you want to send me some good old-fashioned letters and such. Just message/e-mail me if you want it. I am extremely excited and really don't know what to expect from this experience. I am going into it with an open mind and positive attitude and that's really all I can do. I don't know what is going to happen while I'm there, but what I do know is that this chapter in my book won't be blank for long. I will miss you all!

Love,
Alli

Advertisement



14th August 2009

GO GIRL!
YEAH ALLI! LOVE YOU SOOO MUCH. can't wait to hear about all your ghanian adventures so far. thinking about you!! Sig

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb