Minneapolis, FINALLY!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Minneapolis
September 23rd 2012
Published: October 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

WE MADE IT! FINALLY! We made it..

I had a list of things I wanted to do and see in Minneapolis, if we found ourselves needing things to do and see.

I wanted to go see the Mary Tyler Moore statue, which is in front of Macy’s. I wanted to visit the House of Balls (before you think bad thoughts, the artist sculpts using bowling balls).

I debated whether or not I wanted to see The Shoe Tree, which also has a couple of bicycles hanging in it, along with hundreds of shoes, but then decided to just keep my eye out for it, if we were in the neighborhood anyway, but not go out of our way for it.

I really did want to see Spoonbridge and Cherry - it’s a sculpture of a gigantic spoon holding a cherry...in case that wasn’t clear. It’s in the Minneapolis Sculpture Garden at the Walker Art Center.

I also wanted to go to this Italian restaurant, called Trattoria Tosca , because, so it’s been said, not only has super yummy food, but has dishes for you dog, too! I even bought Daisy & Coco pretty little "dress up" collars, so they could go out on the town!

There are no pictures, because we didn’t go. I’m actually not disappointed - but these places are on my list for "next time" if ever I find myself in Minneapolis again.
(Oh, I forgot to mention The Mall of America. We did consider going (but didn't) - but mostly for the air conditioning...)

It was HOT! SO HOT!




AND we were very busy visiting with friends we hadn’t seen for - it seemed like FOREVER! 8 or 9 months for sure. So, we scrapped the "to-do" list and stayed around the campsite and visited, which, really, is the best way to spend time, isn’t it?

(This is the only way to travel with friends - a list of things to do, for just in case, and the flexibility to do none or just some of it, without stress.)

The one thing that mattered, though, was the Minnesota Twins game! Fortunately, that mattered to all of us!



We bought our tickets on line (http://minnesota.twins.mlb.com/index.jsp?c_id=min), and somehow managed to pick the EXACT right location! (I mean, not just that we were right off of First Base, but our seats were just out of the sun, the entire time!)



Don’t you just love baseball? The whole event just feels like ...summer. Who doesn’t feel like a little kid, when you are singing out "Buy me some peanuts and cracker jacks"?

The only thing missing was "The Wave". I assumed there’d be a Wave (which was first done at a Mariners’ game, by the way - Woo Hoo Mariners!!) but nope. Maybe it’s ONLY done at Mariners’ games...? Now I don’t know. Who knows this answer? Anyone?

I didn’t have Cracker Jacks...or peanuts, but I did have a footlong ballpark hotdog, cotton candy, a cooler of some sort, a sip of beer and LOTS and LOTS of water.

Twins were playing the White Sox, and White Sox won. The game was still GREAT! With some out-of-the-park home runs and some base stealing (all the great plays were done by the Twins - so even though they didn’t win, the game was really exciting!!)

We’re off to see the Jolly Green Giant on Wednesday!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb