The Thumb, the Hand, and the U.P.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan
August 7th 2007
Published: August 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Michigan

Sarnia through Mackinac to Ironwood

The Thumb


Yes, Michigan has "parts" to it. Since I was running short on time, I skipped the Thumb, which has a scenic byway on it. I skipped Detroit, which also has a scenic byway. Perhaps some other day I can visit Detroit, hear some music, and take in the history of the place, before it finally dies due to the American auto industry's demise.

The Hand


I just moved up the hand of Michigan to get some miles under my belt, and head towards the top of the state. One thing about having to stop frequently at rest stops is that I get to enjoy the beautiful flowers that Michigan has planted. I couldn't get over the colors and variation of plantings for a stunning look. The White House should look this nice. I ended up staying at the Cheboygan State Park Campground just before the Mackinac Bridge. I snuck in late, slept in the car because I thought is was going to rain, sweated the night out since it was about 85 degrees, then left early. I did pay for my campsite, but that's it. I still had a lot of miles to go and had logged 506 miles that day...my butt really was sore.

The U.P.


Before crossing the Mackinac Bridge to the Upper Peninsula area (known by locals as "the U.P."), I stopped in Mackinaw (not sure why one has a "c" and the other has a "w" in the name) to have some breakfast and touch Lake Huron (the fourth of the five great lakes). I had a cinnamon roll, which was huge, and "the best" according to the lady behind the counter (what else is she going to say?). Once across the bridge, I zoomed up to Lake Superior and touched it (five for five now) at Grand Marais, which also had a nice beach on which I had another peanut and jam sandwich, and took a nap (this driving thing really takes the wind out of my sails). I went this way to stop at Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, the first national lakeshore in the USA.

Pictured Rocks


So, what is this place about? Well, glad you asked because I had never heard of it, just say it on my atlas. Picture Rocks has many features, including the picture rocks, not pictographs but the "images" that you see (mainly from the lake, not from land) of water that has seeped through layers of rock and sediment that change color with the exposure of the minerals to water and light. I looked through a photo book of them, and they are cool. But, not only does the park have these cliffs, but it has some cathedral rocks (eroded sandstone that are like the hoodoos in Bryce National Park) and amazingly some pretty falls (only 20-30 feet, but still pretty) in mixed conifer forests, and incredibly sand dunes! I walked on a couple of them, and they are really cool, especially next to such a huge body of water, and so high on the cliff (about 150-200 feet up). So, lots to see and do, and a good quantity of hiking and backcountry camping (but you have to suffer through the high 80 degree weather, high humidity, and of course, the ever present mosquitoes). What a neat find. Yet, another national park treasure I can check off my list.

Lake Superior Circle Tour


So, Lake Superior has a huge shoreline, and a good part of it is part of an auto tour route. Along it, I saw more wild turkeys and their babies, two really big dear, and lots of fields of hay.

Just before leaving this state, I ate dinner (it was awful) then camped in a the Chequamagon National Forest. I'm getting really good at setting up my tent in the dark under cloudy skies (assuming no rain that night). I was pooped after my long drive (463 miles) and fell asleep quickly.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.12s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb