Walking in a Winter Wonderland


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » UP
March 3rd 2009
Published: March 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was nice. I didn’t have to wake up until the temperature was in the positives, and even then, it was warm enough for me to walk around in my bright orange flip flops and trousers and black slick jacket. Got up to at least 29! Not a cloud in the sky either.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been working on a project for Sarah. I took all of our favorite songs from our favorite musicals and put them onto one single sing-a-long disc! Yesterday, I finally got it to work properly and burn and everything, so I asked Kyle to call her and have her come down to his room so I could put it in hers. She didn’t find it until this morning and was having trouble figuring out how I got it in there while she was sleeping. When I saw her this morning, she had watched a lot of the video and loved it. “Thanks for the video! But tell me the story- the best part about you giving gifts is the stories behind them.” In our year or so of knowing each other- half of the time spending 24/7 together and the other half
BarnyardBarnyardBarnyard

2 stories tall!
being 3 times zones away- I’ve had to get pretty creative with my gift giving. It’s been quite the challenge, but certainly a fun one.

We took a bunch of the staff out to lunch with us, which was fun. The service was really, really incredibly slow though. Sarah and I started watching The Sound of Music and I started a puzzle before we had to go to the venue for tonight’s show. Again, a great show with a packed house. I would play here any day of the week! Being that it’s an engineering school, Claudio got quite a few cheers when he said he wants to be an engineer when he grows up.

Load out went really fast. Sarah and I finished the movie (and the puzzle) and now it’s bed time. We have a long drive ahead of us tomorrow.

This town has competitions every year to see who can build the best snow sculptures. I took some pictures of them for you, though they don’t do them justice. Also, snowmobiles are everywhere! Running up and down the lake, and there’s even a parking lot for them at the school!

One anecdote I forget to mention from church on Sunday in Green Bay. The pastor was doing announcements or something and said, “We’ll be out of here before the Packer game.” I’m thinking, “It’s March. There’s no football in March.” Pause. Bill continued, “…which is in August. I do have a long message for you, but not that long, hopefully.” He was a riot.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

BigBig
Big

I'm not sure what this is, but it was the tallest one I saw!
Broom Hockey Anyone?Broom Hockey Anyone?
Broom Hockey Anyone?

I saw at least 3 rinks for it!


Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb