Engadine, Michigan


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » UP
July 25th 2008
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Lake MichiganLake MichiganLake Michigan

the name says it all...
Yesterday was definitely an odd day. I believe I got bit by a bee. Yes bit, not stung. I was riding in town with my visor up, since I love to feel the air on my face. I wear tinted polycarbonate glasses too, just in case larger objects fly right into my eye. Some large bug flew in and hit me in the face, and I thought it might be a bee but I couldn’t feel it crawling around on me. Normally the bugs just hit me and fall off and don’t cause any problems. But on a rare occasion they crawl around and do whatever they like to me, especially when I am cruising down the road. In the past I had a bee crawl onto my neck and sting me while I was riding, and there’s not much you can do right away to take care of it when you are cruising at 60mph. But anyway, back to this story. All of a sudden I feel this stinging sensation at my side, but it doesn’t feel like a bee sting. So I keep feeling this bug biting me as I am trying to pull off the road to investigate.
Lake Michigan #2Lake Michigan #2Lake Michigan #2

another one...
Once I do stop the bike, it still takes me a few seconds to get all my gear off. So by that time it feels like I was bitten maybe 5 times. Once I get the jacket off this bee-looking creature flies out of my jacket before I get a good look at it. I knew one thing, I just needed to get that thing out of my jacket, and I didn’t need to capture it to see what it was. And it even bit me all the way through my shirt, pretty incredible I might say! I think this might have been a good show for the bystanders, seeing this guy on a bike frantically stopping and pulling off his gear as fast as he can. But events like this always add excitement to my day. And one thing it does to me is makes me think I always have bugs and bees crawling around on me! But I am sure it will wear off in a day or 2.

Last night I stayed in Engadine, Michigan. It was an older couple that lived in an older farm house. As usual it was pretty relaxed, and I headed out this morning to grab breakfast at a small diner in Naubinway. That is where I am now, trying to find someone with wi-fi that I can mooch off of…..hahaha. I hear there is free wi-fi next door, but since they have a metal roof in the restaurant it doesn’t get signal here. So what I am just going to do is as I’m packing up the bike again, well I will just ‘borrow’ some of these radio frequencies from the nice next door neighbor.

I only have to travel about 80 miles today, so I am going to take my time to get there. I will be traveling right along Lake Michigan and Lake Huron, so from what I hear the scenery is pretty nice. Anyway, the bike and the breakfast bill are calling my name. I better listen.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0665s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb