Inspiration for my future library!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Mackinac Island
September 12th 2008
Published: September 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

This one is out of chronological order, you still have Upper Peninsula and Mackinac Island, Michigan to come, but I wanted to put this one together now. For those of you who don't know, I have a thing for round rooms or turrets on houses. Someday it is my plan to have a house that has a super tall turret that I can turn into my library, with a huge ladder on wheels that I can wheel around the round room. Until then, I am constantly on the lookout. Mackinac Island was a fantastic place to get ideas for my future round room library (I think Cody had his fill of hiking the island for round rooms, however - he doesn't share in my over enthusiasm for them). This particular blog is basically for my own entertainment, but I figured I would share it with anyone who is interested. Here is a collection of round rooms on Mackinac Island.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Turrets Galore!Turrets Galore!
Turrets Galore!

Gotta love the rounded porch on the bottom floor.
Turrets Galore!Turrets Galore!
Turrets Galore!

I liked this one because of the siding, it was very coastal looking.
Turrets Galore!Turrets Galore!
Turrets Galore!

I thought the roof on this one was kinda funny looking.
Turrets Galore!Turrets Galore!
Turrets Galore!

The little round windows on top of the round room make this turret a well rounded room (HA! HA!).
Turrets Galore!Turrets Galore!
Turrets Galore!

This was my favorite! It is tall like I want and it has purple on it, can't get much better.
Turrets Galore!Turrets Galore!
Turrets Galore!

This one is neat because it extends much higher than the rest of the house (bed and breakfast, actually).
Turrets Galore!Turrets Galore!
Turrets Galore!

This one is a stretch, as far as roundness goes, it's more hexagonal, but it made the list anyway.
Turrets Galore!Turrets Galore!
Turrets Galore!

This is the over-sized round room. Not tall at all, but it makes up for it in girth :).
Turrets Galore!Turrets Galore!
Turrets Galore!

Great Porch!
Turrets Galore!Turrets Galore!
Turrets Galore!

This entire house was pretty impressive.
Turrets Galore!Turrets Galore!
Turrets Galore!

This one has great stained glass. I never thought to add stained glass to my library, now I just might add that to the plans! The roof looks like Elphaba's hat, don't you think, Hutchinsons?
Turrets Galore!Turrets Galore!
Turrets Galore!

These next three were on the hill, to keep the riff-raff away, so I had to admire the turrets from a distance!
Turrets Galore!Turrets Galore!
Turrets Galore!

This one comes in second, as far as tall turrets go. I would need a pretty tall ladder for this one!


Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb