Trip prep.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Kalamazoo
August 28th 2014
Published: September 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

I’m contemplating catching a bus to Alpena, which is costly only in terms of time; in the neighborhood of ten hours, one way. The trip takes between four or five hours in an automobile, so ten is rather discouraging. I checked the Grey Hound website and found a round trip ticket to be $109. If I head up on Friday and come back Monday I would have to days in town so the trip would definitely fall within my budget of $400. I spent most of the day debating whether I should bite the bullet and head up. The two travel days would likely be unpleasant yet the other two would be fun, serving as a nice mini-vacation prior to the start of fall term. I eventually decided to go for it, paid for my ticket online and packed for the trip. I also made a trip to the market for rations as there are no healthy meal stops on the route. The listed departure time is 10:45 AM but I need to pick up my ticket at the station beforehand. I think thirty minutes should provide more than enough time but the website suggests arriving an hour early. Allowing for a ten minute walk and the half hour Metro ride uptown I’ll need to leave the house at nine. Prepared for a long day of travel I think I’ll hit the sack early.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb