Seven weeks to go


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Dexter
March 19th 2011
Published: March 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

With little over seven weeks to go, thoughts of this journey are starting to consume every waking minute. Each night I'm searching the internet for more ideas and excursions. The lastest interest is hiking through Connemara National Park (http://www.connemaranationalpark.ie/index.html). There are also some great spots near Kerry. Just emailed Geoff and Brian to see if they are up for such a trek. With St. Patricks day coming (and going) there have been many TV shows centered on irish food, travel, and entertainment, and I have enjoyed watching each episode I could find with mounting enthusiasm. Bobby Flay's Ireland show on the food network was especially good, as he showed us a few local places to go for some excellent irish chow. I also learned a lot about the change in the culinary treats ireland has to offer. I'm getting terrific ideas from friends across the globe (thanks everyone), most notably the Guiness tour (won't miss that), and west coast towns such as Clifden. I'm starting to lean towards the more westerly locales, rather than the south western tip of the country...there are a lot of reports of overcrowded tourist areas near Kerry and Dingle in May. For some reason I keep rereading about Galway...looks like a very cool city. I've also been reading up on Dublin and am very excited to spend two solid days in the capital before we head home. Finally, I'm reading several books to get me even MORE in the spirit...first Malachy McCourt's History of Ireland...so far it is enjoyable...second, I'm going to read Joyce's Dubliners on my up coming business trip to Denver. I'm off to buy a new camera...the first of many purchases to come for this trip!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb