Day 2 at Riggs


Advertisement
Published: May 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post


'Meeting Room' for my 0930 meeting with my preceptor.
Hello!

So, day 2 at Riggs was very interesting indeed! Honestly, I've never known such a place existed anymore! Surrounded by eminent and frankly famous PhD and MD Psychoanalysts, often during case conferences, in a large room, discussing a patient, who is then brought in for an interview, in front of us all, invited to leave and then discussed at length! It seems very old-fashioned, but this centre in many ways succeeds on that!

I had a meeting with my Preceptor - Dr Mark (something), which consisted of another walk and a philosophical analytical discussion. This time, we walked up a hill and the views were amazing! Picture attached!

I'm loving it here - Barbara and Steve brought me a bagel this morning, with fresh coffee and cream cheese; and I had lunch at the Inn (where the patient community lives) - seriously, the food is amazing and I don't have to pay for a thing! Was telling Matty earlier - we have a choice of no less than FIVE filter coffees and about 10 teas - all on tap whenever we want and free! - must try to take a pic of the coffees!

I attended a seminar this evening on Schizoid phenomena - I get the impression that the intellectual excellence on psychoanalysis is probably unparalleled anywhere in the world! - all have PhDs or MDs, or both and the interactions are mind-blowing!

Anyhow, I must also remember to take pics of my drive to- and from- work soon - it's an amazing drive and rush hour round here consists of about 6 cars on Highway 7!

Spk soon

xxx

Advertisement



1st May 2013

Love it
I love waking up to your news each morning. Sounds like you're having a brilliant time :-))) Robbin xx

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb