Day 1 at Austen Riggs...


Advertisement
Published: April 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post


The Lobby of the Medical Office Building (MOB)
Barbara bought me two scones - she didn't want me to go into withdrawl! (Do Americans think we consume scones everyday???), so I had one for breakfast and Steve made me a black coffee.

Drove to Riggs, and had an orientation day. OMG! What a place! The work they do is fantastic, but intense doesn't even begin to describe it! I've uploaded some more pics btw! I was taken to my office (next to the library) - I have my own office! There's free tea and coffee and snacks on-tap and lunc is free for staff! I can even eat breakfast and dinner with the patients for free! Will be giving that a go later this week!

I was taken for a walk round the local golf-course by my supervisor - Dr David Mintz, who explained about the elective, and then met with various staff. The patients are unbelievably complicated, and the therapy mega intense! I urge you to watch the following video for a flavour of what goes on there:


I also met te other med student - Julia, who's American and has been there 2 weeks already. She's really friendly and is a great help!

Reception in the MOB - Old school!
In fact, everyone at Riggs is mega friendly and welcoming!

Looking forward to drinking lots of coffee, reading lots in the library, and talking to some interesting people over the next four weeks! Please check out the photos, and will update soon!

Bye for now

x


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



My very own office!


View from my window.


Library (next to my office)


Reading area of library (can see myself spending a lot of time here with coffee and literature!)


30th April 2013

Blog response
Hi Jon enjoying your updates TheCentre looks amazing love Mum

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb