It was the Best of Times


Advertisement
Published: August 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Not quite the worst of times, but this Grand Adventure of mine could have had a better start. I recently read in National Geographic Traveler magazine (yes, cliche, I know) that there has been a spike in filed complaints against the travel industry. The article speculated that there is a directly proportionate relationship between travel mishaps and online bookings. While my travel problems were somewhat caused by booking online, they were more affected by incompetence in airline workers. Ooh, so mad at Hawaiian and Delta airlines. Unfortunately, due to my online bookings, it's hard to blame one of them singularly.
I booked one flight with Hawaiian Air from Honolulu to San Diego, off of Hawaiian's website. I called their customer service line later, and asked, if I booked with a different airline as a connector flight, would Hawaiian be able to transfer my baggage all the way through to my final destination (Boston). Assured by this woman on the phone (ALWAYS ask for a name!! D'oh) that as long as I booked with a partner airline, yes, Hawaiian would send the bags through. I asked again and again, "Are you positive?? Do you PROMISE??" Yes, she promised. Dirty liar!! I went on to book a connection with Delta, a partner airline, this time with Cheap Tickets. All was well, until the fateful day of my departure. The nice lady at the Hawaiian Air counter told me I'd made an "illegal connection" (do they have to be so dramatic?) and that her computer wouldn't even allow her to print out the baggage tickets. So now I've broken some airline law, and am a travel criminal. After carting my sweaty butt (Hawaii is humid!) back and forth between the Hawaiian and Delta counters to try to sort out the mess, I was right where I started, with bags ending in San Diego, and an inevitable missed flight to Boston.
I made a phone call immediately to Delta, whose customer service "agent" (see what I mean about the drama?) planned a new route for me, and said that if I called the next morning, at 3 am, I would be able to book the new flight for only a $50 fee!!! Exponentially cheaper than buying a new ticket, I opted for this plan. Once again, fool that I am, I didn't get the agent's name!!! Maybe he has a number assignment: agent 019. Well, once again, my secret agent lied. My dear friend Ashley (see previous blog) allowed me to rest on her couch for two hours as I waited for the morning to book my flight.
THe only thing worse than waking up at 3 am is waking up to betrayal. The new Delta agent (surely at least a double-O, this one) regretted to inform me that I'd been given "mis-information", and to book that new flight, I'd have to pay dearly.
I made the flight, I currently have my stupid baggage, and am in lovely Massachusetts. Now, National Geographic, before you wax nostalgic about the good ole days before online reservations, I say we take a closer look at the non-computerized, flesh and bone, days-of-yore telephone agents. At least a computer could never be so ignorant or sinister as to give out so much incorrect information. Unless the computer's name is Hal.

Advertisement



31st August 2008

Have a wonderful trip!
Well, Dear Daughter. You are now older and wiser and right back on schedule. Have a wonderful trip!!
25th September 2008

...it was the BLURST of times?!?!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb