Should I Start Packing?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Natick
June 25th 2007
Published: June 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

That seems to be the theme of every day for me. Although, to be fair, I'm a much better last minute packer - I'm talking '30 minutes until I need to leave for the airport' kind of last minute, I guess it's just a gift I have. It's definitely not heriditary because when my parents leave for a trip the luggage is in the front room of the house days before (not sure if this is an actual function of them being anally prepared or an indication of their immense desire to leave the cold/rain weather that so marks our region).

Anywho, I'm looking at not a lot of time before the journey and have been trying to sharpen up some Spanish so I can at least make it from the Aeropuerto (see?)a la casa SIN PROBLEMAS (it's like I'm a native already). So far some of my favorite Buenos Aires slang phrases include:
bobo - idiot (also found out this was my father's nickname when he was younger, hmmmmm)
bira- beer (I like words that sound like English words, and I like beer)
che - kind of like 'hey bro' (fun to say)

Also listened to a Spanish Podcast entitled 'Love and Dating' where I learned the all important:

Puedo comprarte una bebida? (Can I buy you a drink?)
Tiene una esposa? (Do you have a wife?)
Es alguno esta sentando aqui? (Is anyone sitting here?)

Maybe it should have been titled 'Ways not to start a conversation'

Okay, on that lovely note I will bid adios to my first official blog, and hope that you will tune in to hear more once I actually leave the continent, just like an appetizer, leaves you wanting more...

Pues, necesito ir a cama, gracias mis amigos...





Advertisement



28th June 2007

Hooked
Yep, I think that you CAN blog w/the best of them! Keep them coming but as far as the Spanish goes........aahhhh.....yo (mi?) no habla espanol......... keep it coming in ingles por favor. :)

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb