Yankee Candle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Deerfield
January 17th 2010
Published: January 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone. Today, Dean & I went to Yankee Candle's flagship store in Deerfield, Mass. We've been there multiple times, so it was no big deal to me. But then I saw someone taking pictures and I decided to take some too, which is something I've never done. You know what they saw, we take for granted what's in our own backyard. I thought others would like to view this amazing destination store. First, let me give you a little background information about the store from what I can recall. First, the man who started it was living in Holyoke, Mass. He created candles either in the basement or the garage of his parents house. Maybe it was the basement with the store in the garage, I can't remember. Eventually, the store grow too big for it to be contained in a garage. I'm not sure if he opened a store prior to the Deerfield location of not. Whatever the case, he did end up opening the store in Deerfield and it kept growing and growing. Eventually, he sold it to some corporation. Personally, I think the candles where never the same again after that and I don't mean that in
VillageVillageVillage

Here's a village with the background painted like the night sky
a good way.
Anyway, it is a terrific destination no matter what time of the year it is. Inside you'll find a Bavarian Christmas village year round, village displays, a train going through several rooms,and Santa's Workshop. You may even get a glimpse of Mr and Mrs Claus. You'll cross over a footbridge that goes over a "mote" and step into a room inside casle with suits of armor, a beer boot, chairs that his and her highness would sit in. You can even put on the crown and sit in the chair. I don't think anyone would bow to you or serve you. There's a resturant located on the grounds. It's called Chandeler's. I've never eaten there, but I hear the food is good. You'll also find a room about the history of candle making. Let's not forget all the candles that you can imagine. You can even dip your own candles.
If you're ever in the area, either visiting the Basketball Hall of Fame, 6 Flags New England, or at the Big E, I recommend driving the 40 minutes north to visit this destination. I've only touched the surface of the stuff you'd find there. You need to
Village displayVillage displayVillage display

Here's only one of many villages you'll encounter a this store.
go explore for yourself. Plan to spend a few hours there to explore and see wonderful things.
Enjoy the pictures.
Kathy


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Village displayVillage display
Village display

This village is "on a mountainside"
Village storefrontsVillage storefronts
Village storefronts

You're walking "outside" in the plaza
Christmas treeChristmas tree
Christmas tree

a Large Christmas tree "outside" the stores.
Beer BootBeer Boot
Beer Boot

If anyone ever saw the movie "Beerfest" you'll know exactly what to do with this boot.
ReindeerReindeer
Reindeer

The reindeer were spending some time with their fawns, protecting Santa's sleigh.


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb