$1500 Cape Cod Challenge: Accommodations


Advertisement
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Doing Cape Cod cheaply means finding the right accommodations. I have rented vacation homes/villas before; once in Orlando and once in the Hamptons. Having had great luck with them, I decided to give it a go again.

The websites I poured over were www.vrbo.com, www.cyberrentals.com and www.weneedavacation.com. These all have homes, villas, or condos for rent by owner which is sometimes much cheaper than going with a rental agency which tacks on a fee. The vacation home owner usually holds a security deposit which is refunded after your stay. Sometimes you will be required to sign a rental agreement.

One thing I noticed about Cape Cod while searching for homes is there are a few weeks during the summer season that you might find cheaper than others. Many homeowners had the last week in June discounted and the week after the July 4th holiday was also cheaper on a few homes. Quite a few homeowners also offered last minute discounts. Even if the listing didn't mention a last minute discount, don't let that discourage you from asking for one. If you are looking to rent within the next 30 days, I would definitely ask. I am a huge fan
The BedroomThe BedroomThe Bedroom

The balcony overlooking the ocean was off of the bedroom.
of last minute discounts; they can be a great bargain.

I finally settled for a condo right across the street from Craigville Beach in Centerville. I liked Centerville's mid cape location, and I loved the idea of a beach view. Here's where it pays to email and ask the owner questions. The condo listing said "sleeps 4" but I have a family with three small children under the age of 7, so I asked the owner if he would make an exception. Luckily for us it was no problem. By vacationing the last week of June, we were able to rent this one bedroom beachfront condo, with a full kitchen and a pull out sofa in the living room, for $600 for the week! You heard that right, $600 bucks! It works out to $85.71 per night with no tax...what a bargain!

I will post pictures of our awesome little apartment next week. I would take them now to show you what a great place it is, but my kids have already tossed their toys around the floor. To truly appreciate this adorable condo, I'll have to let you see it the day we leave, after we pack
The Livingroom/Dining roomThe Livingroom/Dining roomThe Livingroom/Dining room

There was a pull out futon that the boys slept on. The front door opened onto a screened porch.
up our cr*p and take the parting photos.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb