$1500 Cape Cod Challenge: One week in Cape Cod with a family of 5


Advertisement
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

View from the CondoView from the CondoView from the Condo

This is the balcony off our bedroom
This is my first try at blogging, so it might be a little rough around the edges. Do you ever wish your family and friends at home could see what an awesome vacation deal you got? That is the reason I'm starting this blog. Not to brag, but to show my friends and family what kind of deals are out there. I know a lot of people who rarely take vacations. I think they are overwhelmed by the planning or think it might just be too expensive for them to go. I want to show them with a little planning, that a family vacation truly is within reach.

I am a bit of an overplanning nut. I enjoy it. Finding a great vacation bargain is my passion. This year's vacation budget is $1500...yup...you heard that right, $1500 for a week's vacation for a family of five...and we're not going camping!

Well, in the interest of full disclosure...when I started planning this trip, I thought I would be camping...but then as I got further along in my research I found out the cost of renting a cabin for a week at a campground on Cape Cod (our chosen destination) was about the same as renting a house or condo in town or on the beach. So, the camping idea was thrown out the window.

I am currently on day three of the vacation, and I'm keeping track of every penny that I spend. You too can do this trip for $1500! I've got to get the kids up now to get ready for our whale watching trip, so I'll sign off. Stay tuned because detailed day by day itineraries will be published soon!



Advertisement



26th June 2007

Fascinating site....
This is so interesting.....I love being able to see what your vacation is like while you are still there. Love the pictures of the kids. Miss you guys but glad you are having so much fun.

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.6kb