I'm off! (Most of you have known this for quite some time...)


Advertisement
Published: June 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi -

I woke up this morning very excited - my bags are all packed, and there's not much left to attend to. Since I'm going to be exhausted when I arrive in Rome, I figure I may as well send the first leg of my trip.

But since I won't be able to fill you in on the specifics of the first leg, I'll just have to make them up:
Logan was a mess - one of those elder-cart drivers plowed into one of the de-icing trucks on the runway (don't ask me what it was doing there), and my flight was delayed by 4 hours. When I finally got in the air the two five-year-old twins behind me fought the entire way. Thankfully, one of the flight attendants slipped some vodka into their milk when the in-flight meal came around. "Get 'em started with the White Russians early," she told me.

Of course, I had to run to get to my connecting flight in Amsterdam, and made it with only moments to spare.

When I arrived in Rome, I was screened twice by customs (I do still look rather young, and I was coming from Amsterdam, the Land of Legal Ganga. I finally made it to my hostel after getting lost twice, only to find out that they'd lost my reservation. As a result, I'm currently sharing a single bed with a large Austrian man named Helmut. He snores.

Ah, Italy.

-Eric

Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb