Tea for two and two for tea!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
August 25th 2007
Published: September 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Next up cam the Spirit of America. That is what is written on the Car licence plates. (Every state has a motto) Staying just north of down town I took a ride in a taxi whose driver had apparently carried Prince Harry a few days ago.

His friends said it was him and he was British and he was ginger!!!!

Anyway looking round downtown Boston I started walking around the freedom trail. Boston is home to the start of the constitution, American independence, a massacre and a tea party.


My personal favourite was the Cheers bar! - Where everybody knows your name! The Hollywood cheers bar is located in Quincy Market. Which is a nice area with food courts, market stalls and shops.

In the evening I met with a friend from Australia who lives there. Alyssa took my to little Italy where we enjoyed a meal and pudding. Was slightly confused as was in a café which showed the England game (against Germany) the day before and When I returned to the hostel David Beckham was on the tele again playing for LA Galaxy sorry Beckham's Galaxy as they call it.

My second full day in Boston I went to Harvard College (University). It is quiet there as terms not started yet but I imagine the place will be crazy during the rest of the year. I also made it to the Charles River which thanks to the return of the beautiful hotter weather meant lots of boats and yachts were sailing.

That evening I gate crashed Alyssa’s and after a home cooked meal hit the sights and sounds of Salem (yes the witch place) I also learnt of the American sports passions especially as the Boston Red Sox (Baseball) were playing and the New England Patriots (American Football).

Leaving the sights and sounds of downtown Boston was cool and it was nice to see the suburbia side of America. Before I left for good we headed out to Rockport. A small little village full of shops and hardly any tourists. Also when I was there some very entertaining morris dancers.

Then without singing the song I was off to New York



Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb