The Finishing Touches


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
April 10th 2007
Published: April 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I'm back in Lexington, waiting for the departure April 17th. Unfortunately, it looks like I'll be doing Australia alone. My cousin Wes can't make it and that totally sucks, becuase he was really looking forward to the Land Down Under. But if he gets into Stanford off the waitlist (which I am confident he will) on May 15, he's coming to meet me on the other side of the world - which is still pretty cool. Send out your positive energy for my travel buddy, cause he deserves it! So I'm out of Boston April 17 to LA for a day, then land in Melbourne April 20. I hadn't even considered Melbourne, but got a good flight there so what the hell - first unexpected change, I guess! I'll need to read up on it. Gotta find a hostel, look into renting a car and all that good stuff. Man this is gonna be expensive! I'm thinking I'll take a week with a rented car to see Melbourne and Sydney areas, then rethink the rest of the trip. Apparantly in Melbourne they love their coffee and horse racing - wierd combo, I know. Got my digital camera yesterday so now I can take pictures. You know, animals doing it, cute girls, my crouch...etc - all the important things everyone wants to see. Just a few more days of freezing my ass off (am I the only one outraged that it's f'ing 30 degrees in April?? Where's the outrage???). You know winter and I have never been on good terms and this town ain't big enough for the 2 of us, so it's me or him and unfortunately it looks like it's me.

My USC packet came the other day and it's practically a full time job getting my shit worked out and planning this trip and pays about the same as MFS. But on the bright side, I was awarded a pretty sick scholarship for 50% tuition! Looks like I'll only be $50 G's in debt instead of $100 G's! Sweeeet....OK I'm starting to get the hang of this quickly 'writing whatever comes to mind thing' cause I'll need it to not spend hours infront of a computer writing this damn thing.

I'm getting my other travel plans worked out too. I'm thinking about 2 weeks in SE Asia. Bangkok to Chiang Mai, then across Luang Prabang in Laos on a Mekong River Cruise. Then hopefully I can take the Mekong all the way down to Cambodia to see the amazing Angkor Wat - I have no idea what the hell it is, but everyone tells me it's sick - then on to Saigon before flying to China. Steve Gross has sent me a sweet intinerary for 1 month in China that I'm gonna try out. Still hope I can get to Tibet before heading out. Last day of the trip is July 21, so this trip has some finality to it now. That's all for now. I realize this entry is kinda boring, but they will get better - I'm not exactly having wild adventures sitting in parent's house arguing about politics with my Dad and trying not pay attention to the Red Sox. So stay tuned for better stories soon.

Advertisement



11th April 2007

Wasting Time at Work
In case you get lost ony you was, Angkor Wat is located at 13°242453N, 103°52203E. Cool blog, enjoy your trip, and post often. I look forward to living vicariously through you for the next 12 weeks!

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb