Going Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland » Silver Spring
October 15th 2008
Published: October 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Childhood friendsChildhood friendsChildhood friends

Kerri cosplaying Riku, and myself cosplaying Sora, from the video game Kingdom Hearts II
“For a long time it seemed to me that life was about to begin - real life. But there was always some obstacle in the way, something to be gotten through first, some unfinished business, time still to be served, a debt to be paid. At last it dawned on me that these obstacles were my life. This perspective has helped me to see there is no way to happiness. Happiness is the way. So treasure every moment you have and remember that time waits for no one. Happiness is a journey, not a destination.”
--Souza

For once I will take a shot at writing an entry in free form without the use of a word document to revise my ideas and see how they flow. It's better to let thoughts flow spontaneously and from the heart, just coming at the spur of the moment. It hasn't been very long ago that I saw this quote posted on the front of a greeting card at the store and I was compelled to buy it -- Not to send to anyone, but as my own personal inspiration. There have been many events in my life just in the past two months
Karaoke?  In America?Karaoke?  In America?Karaoke? In America?

A night of karaoke with a friend from Gaidai. They even had Japanese songs too!
alone that have put me through trial, tribulation, and to be blunt a whole lot of hell on earth; but through it all I've tried to remain strong and keep encouraging myself to go the extra mile, to not let myself be bogged down under what other people may think of me and instead reach for what I know is right and believe in. Life will always be filled with obstacles, some good while others live you sore and with a sour taste in your mouth. But in both bad times and good we must always remember that things aren't always as bad as they appear; you can find happiness in any situation.

I spent a good bit of time this evening and in these past few weeks talking and learning more about my friend Debbie, who I can relate to on so many different levels. It's been.. difficult to get out everything that I've been feeling lately, to be perfectly honest. Most of the things that I have to talk about are quite heavy in nature, and aren't exactly the happiest of situations. They are things that I feel are better discussed in person or at least with
BakeryBakeryBakery

Shot of half the kitchen where I work
a live connection because it's extremely hard to show emotions and feelings through text on a screen in some instances. This is why I haven't posted as frequently or been as in touch with people as I would like to be since the start of August, and perhaps earlier than that. But through talking with Debbie tonight I have made some decisions with regards to my current situation, and I know that in the end things will work out just fine. I can post a little bit of what I have to say here but then I feel I should leave it at that: family does not mean blood relatives. Sometimes it is your friends who will love you for who you are and support what you believe in when you don't have the strength to do it. Where my relationship with my mother has grown I have felt the relationship with my father suffer greatly.. But I know that it will work out for the best in the end, and if he desires to re-establish our relationship then I am more than willing and welcome to it. I've had my friends here in America, as well as those of
Cake comaCake comaCake coma

The layers for the fourteen odd wedding cakes that we do each week
you reading this to lend me support in everything, and for that I cannot begin to thank you enough. This is extremely vague for which I sincerely apologize.. but as always, if you'd like to know just simply ask; I am an open book as always.

All in all I feel that I have found that happiness in myself at long last. Through my friends I've always known here in America, through the friends I made over in Japan, and through the family I have gained from these important people in my life. I am not disappointed with the decisions I have made since returning from Japan, and I am hoping that the path my future will take will show itself to me very soon. I am very serious about moving to Sweden; and though I don't have the financial backing to make that step quite yet, I am happy to say that I will be going there for two weeks at the beginning of November. It is important that now and again we return home to refind ourselves and reconnect with those we love and admire, and just have a few moments of peace finding out where the
Wedding cakesWedding cakesWedding cakes

Some of the undecorated wedding cakes at the bakery
journey called life has taken them in the time apart with one another. I'm still not sure what all we might do, but so long as I am with Vincent and David then I know that I will be all right. It's been far too long since I've been home after all.. I can't even begin to express in words how much I am looking forward to this trip. My suitcase is almost already packed and I still have fifteen days until I leave America for Sweden! For the moment I'm counting these down in episodes of how many more cakes I have left to bake -- still two more days of novelty cakes, two more days of wedding cakes, and three days of assembly to go. Right now my biggest fear is that I'm going to get there and not want to come back.. which I'm sure will be the reality. But I know that I'm going back most definitely next year so there is nothing to be sad about. There is no such thing as goodbyes; just "see you later"s and the knowledge that they are always in my heart and thoughts. I'm just ready to be there
NatsukashiiNatsukashiiNatsukashii

Decorated novelty cake.. Really quite lovely
already! My sister has already created a list of souvenirs she wants me to bring back.. and my mother has already told me that going will bring the Apocalypse, but all in all things are a lot better than how they reacted to my going to Japan. Things are never normal and that's just the way I like them. I can't wait for a new page in my adventure to turn!

Here in America days are filled with one thing only - Baking. For the time I am working full-time as the head baker at Creative Cakes here in my city. It's a small location that you would easily miss just driving down the road, but they have been well known in the area for the past 27 years. There isn't much secret to their recipes other than adding pudding and different flavored extracts to cake mix batters, but the decorators employed there are absolutely amazing with what they can do. My manager owns another company in a neighboring city that specializes in European desserts, but she has been devoting more and more time recently to this location in order to get it off the ground and as the
Keyblades!Keyblades!Keyblades!

Props for cosplay: My friend Kerri actually made hers and it turned out wonderfully!
leader in the cake business for this area. I don't really see or speak with her or any of the other staff much.. In fact, most of my days are spent with in close conversation with the kitchen staff that work under me. They all only speak Spanish with exception of Carola, who learned English as her major in college, and has fast become my best friend at the bakery. We have a great deal in common, and she always tells me how much she would love to go to Italy some day as well as return to her home country of Bolivia. There is definitely never a dull moment in the bakery-- and working there has made me decide absolutely that I never want a wedding cake when I finally get married. In these past two months alone I have already seen several wedding cake disasters, two in the same short number of hours. In both those instances there were two cakes that were placed in the front seat of the delivery vehicle, they hit the brakes too quickly, and the cake did a flip and was demolished by the side of the van or the front windshield. It
Light versus DarkLight versus DarkLight versus Dark

Looking much more like a man than I should
was devastating to me as a baker (who spent the hours baking it), the decorators (who spent time making it into a work of art), and the business (who had to refund the money for it all).. but then to imagine how the wedding party who had no cake for the marriage must have felt? I think I'll be very well satisfied with a piece of wedding pie when all is said and done.

The journey has only begun; I'm expectantly looking forward to many more years of happiness and love ahead of me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

DanteDante
Dante

My friend Bucky dressed as Dante from Devil May Cry
MerMer
Mer

I've heard about Mer off and on for the past two years, and this year was the first time that we actually met!
Kansai GaidaiKansai Gaidai
Kansai Gaidai

I really miss this place, but I think its the memories and people I miss the most


15th October 2008

"My sister told me to bring souvenirs and mother told me its the Apocalypse." Hahaha ^^ When I get married, I'm definitely flying you here to do the cake ;D

Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb