Around the World


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland » College Park
April 29th 2010
Published: April 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Circumnavigation

The series of flights I will be making






Entry #2: 26 days before the trip



Plane tickets are a nightmare



So, this trip has been in planning since sometime in November or December. Naturally, it would have been a good idea to buy plane tickets back then when they would have been far cheaper than they are now. Yeah... that didn't happen. Instead, I waited until last Friday to order them. That's right, AFTER the giant volcano in Iceland erupted and screwed up all the airlines. Genius...

With the volcanic ash disrupting everything ticket prices started to soar, so Kevin and I had to act fast. Because we are leaving on different days, buying round trip tickets together became an impossibility. We had to get one way tickets together to Beijing, and then find our own return tickets. Things really weren't looking very good. I couldn't find anything for less than $2,000, which is $800 more than I ever expected to spend on flights. That's what I get for waiting for so long.

I was checking at least 6 different travel deal sites every 5 minutes for days with no luck. The volcano did some weird things, because many sites would have deals with cheap prices, but upon clicking them they would jump by nearly $200. It was ridiculously frustrating, and I thought we might have to cut out the tour just to pay for airfare. But there was light at the end of the tunnel...






So where exactly is Qatar?



As tickets became more and more expensive, I decided we had to buy them there and then or risk paying double what I initially expected. I was just about to place an order for tickets that were close to $2,200 for each of us, but by a stroke of luck tried out a site called Vayama beforehand. Turns out Japan Airlines was offering tickets for $875 to Beijing. Better yet, there was a transfer flight in Tokyo's international airport. Awesome, we are now going to get a glimpse of Japan on our trip!

Encouraged by this success, I continued to check other sites for my return ticket. Now, here's where it got hairy. There was nothing for below $1,250 buying a flight from Shanghai to Washington DC in late August. Well, all except for one ticket on Qatar Airways. I noticed this before, but hesitated to buy it since it took me over the Atlantic and stopped in, you guessed it, Qatar. I didn't know a thing about Qatar, except that it is in the Middle East relatively close to where our military has been at war lately. Flying over there made me feel a little uncertain.

Well, turns out Qatar is a part of the United Arab Emirates, and as such is absurdly rich and friendly to tourists. Ever heard stories about Dubai, how they have an indoor ski mountain and islands they turned into shapes ala cookie cutters? Yeah, it's REAL nice there. Better yet, Qatar Airways has been given fantastic reviews, and Travelocity was giving the tickets away for only $835. So total, I got my flight for a little over $1,700. Given the circumstances, I doubt I could find any better. And let's just say if the trip home gets overbooked, I wouldn't mind spending some time in Qatar at a complimentary hotel. Thanks roaming gnome!






Not much longer



So not only do I get to spend the entire summer in China, I also get to circumnavigate the world in an airplane. Check it out on the map, just follow the route west from Washington DC. Who knows what exciting places I'll be able to see, assuming I'm lucky enough to get a window seat. Anyway, the near day's worth of hours I'll be spending in the air one way will give me plenty of time to go over my Chinese flash cards. Tickets are out of the way, and now I can relax. Well, then there's the final exams I should be studying for. Never ends, does it? Oh well, thanks for reading, and sorry for the lack of pictures!




Advertisement



29th April 2010

first again?
Yes, Harry, i have to admit i'm a little disappointed there's no pics,haha. But really, happy that you finally got the plane tickets at an acceptable price as well as a short world travel,heh
29th April 2010

It's Lewis from Hangzhou City, China
Hi, It's Lewis from Hangzhou City, China. If you get time visiting Hangzhou city in the future,you are welcome. If you encounter any problem and need help, don't hesitate to contact me via 086 571 81866529. I hope to be a trustworthy friend of you.

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb