Memories of Maine


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine
September 18th 2007
Published: September 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

"I'm definately NOT returning to work at camp this summer, this last one, or any residential one really."
Smiling as I look at summer photos, and laughing aloud as I remember all of the amazing children I was able to interact with, makes me question my statement once said with such certainty. At least for a moment.
Although the kids were most definitely the most enjoyable part of the summer, Maine in all its wildness and beauty was right there, too. Acadia, Baxter, and the local ponds, coastal towns, falls, and wildlife were spectacular.


Getting back down to Tennessee to see my family was a necessary precurser to a cold winter in New York! My cousins have the most beautiful babies in the world!


Okay, so now I'm in yet another paradise on Earth, the Hamptons of Long Island are, despite being a bit too upscale, a magical mixture of my Outer Banks home and the forrests of Maine! What's not to love!? Other than the prices of course!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Katahdin Stream FallsKatahdin Stream Falls
Katahdin Stream Falls

Much bigger in person
AcadiaAcadia
Acadia

View from 'The Beehive'
Me and Flora KingMe and Flora King
Me and Flora King

This is my lovely cousin Deedee's daughter, I missed alot in NZ!
Anderson AbbottAnderson Abbott
Anderson Abbott

Darby and Emily's newest edition to the Abbott family.
The FamThe Fam
The Fam

Me, Papaw (almost 88 and still doing more than most men half his age!), Gran (the sweetest woman, with the best banana bread), my Mom (she's my Mom, do I need to elaborate on her greatness!)
NY ViewNY View
NY View

My visit in Battery Park
Sag HarborSag Harbor
Sag Harbor

8 minute bike ride from my house
Long Pond Greenbelt Long Pond Greenbelt
Long Pond Greenbelt

There's alot of protected land and local enviro orgs.
Beaches everywhereBeaches everywhere
Beaches everywhere

There's inlets, harbors, the ocean, all with a different feel to them. This was the morning after a one night camping trip with my freind Sue... we had just seen a couple of deer running through that beach grass!


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb