28 In My 28th


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Lexington
July 1st 2012
Published: July 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Some of the world's greatest feats were accomplished by people not smart enough to know they were impossible.





~Doug Larson



As some of you might know, In February 2011, I was sitting on a beach in Chile writing a list of 27 goals to accomplish in my 27th year. I found that excercise quite rewarding, and I was actually able to accomplish several of them. On February 8th, 2012, I closed my 27th year of life began my 28th, I thought it'd be cool to revisit those goals, see which of them I actually did, and then post this year's list of 28 things to do in my 28th year. My hope is that you can help me to be more accountable so that I can have even more success next year. 😊 Well, here it goes!

-Chris

Last year's goals. The ones in bold were completed.


• Get my body to weigh less than 210 lbs (without losing any limbs or organs), and maintain that weight for at least 6 months.
Kiss somebody new - and not get slapped.
• Learn the 20 minute Tai Chi form.
Finish designing and get my new tattoo.
• Learn to roll a kayak.
Race in a 12 hour adventure race.
Go on at least one "get-to-know-my-future-sister-in-law" outing with Helen. Dan, you're not invited. Sorry bro! 😉
Cultivate a habit for the beverage "Mate", doing it as correctly as I am able.
Climb at least 5 tall trees.
Spend at least 5 hours a week (on average) walking or training Sierra.
• Learn to tie a "Monkey's Fist"
• Swim 1 mile in one go.
Save at least $5000 more than what I have.
Learn to meditate for at least 1 hour.
• Run 27 miles in a row.
Learn something about different cigars, and develop a favorite (and be able to back up that choice with some sort of logic).
• Successfully build a friction fire at least 3 times.
• Read a whole book in Spanish, minimum of 40 pages.
• Participate in a whitewater hardshell class or seminar.
• Participate in a motorcycle class.
• Learn to do a cartwheel.
Learn to cook something that I can't pronounce.
Eat something that I'm pretty sure I won't like.
Travel to at least 5 new places.
Buy some throwing axes and practice with them at least 5 times.
• Kill, dress, and eat an animal. A fish doesn't count.
Go somewhere recreationally wearing a suit and tie. Weddings and other such events don't count.




And now, it's time for this year's list. Please help me accomplish these if you are able, and happy trails! The ones in bold have already been accomplished this year. The goal is to finish as many as I can before February 8th, 2013. As you can see, I have my work cut out for me. 😊


• Get my waist size down to 34 or below for at least 4 months.
• Swim 2 miles in one go.
• Run 28 miles in one go.
• Do 100 pushups, 30 pullups, 200 situps, and 100 squats, each in one go.
• Learn to roll a kayak.
• Learn to tie a “Monkey’s Fist”.
• Learn to ride a motorcycle.
• Learn to do a cartwheel.
• Learn to juggle (3 balls minimum).
• Learn the American Sign Language alphabet.
• Show $10,000 in my bank account.
• Meditate for at least 2 hours.
• Successfully build a friction fire at least 3 times.
• Read a whole book in Spanish, minimum of 40 pages.
• Kill, dress, and eat an animal (a fish doesn’t count).
Take the GRE.
• Apply to at least 3 graduate programs.
Kiss somebody new (without getting slapped).
• Go on a personal backpacking trip of at least 2 weeks or 200 miles.
• Go sky diving.
Read at least 15 new books cover to cover.
• Watch less than 10 hours of television/movies per week (on average).
• Attend a contra dance.
• Go to a cigar bar, in a suit, and drink scotch while smoking a cigar.
• Get above 12,000 feet on land.
• Build a center console for my truck.
• Write at least 12 new blog entries.
• Perform at least 20 random anonymous acts of kindness.


Advertisement



1st July 2012

Monkey's Fist
I used to be really good at tying monkey fists... Let's get together this year and tie some!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb