Homeward Bound


Advertisement
Published: May 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Paducah, KY. I rolled up a lot of miles the past two days; 500 on Sunday (made it to Wellington, KS - just south of Wichita), and 565 on Monday.

Since I didn’t really have any sightseeing planned for the drive home, I decided not to stop early in the day and risk getting caught up in the next weather system and severe weather in the plains.

I stopped both days before dark. Monday was a pretty long day. I encountered one heavy shower around Poplar Bluff. Then I had the joy of driving over two very narrow and old bridges back to back over the Mississippi River and then the Ohio River.

Since I covered so much ground the last two days I’ll be able to get home on Tuesday, a day earlier than originally scheduled.

I discovered something interesting today to add to my Route 66 trivia. There are 13 miles of Route 66 in Southeastern Kansas. I never realized Route 66 went through Kansas. I thought it went from Joplin, MO into Oklahoma. I saw a sign for an old bridge that was preserved along Route 66 near Baxter Springs. So the next time I’m exploring new sections of Route 66 I want to include Kansas.

After being out west for the last month, it was nice to get back to GREEN. Kansas was covered with beautifully manicured lawns and miles and miles of wheat fields. Missouri and Kentucky have had lots of rain so everything is green here, too.

Here are a few images from Royal Gorge to wrap up my entries for this journey.

To paraphrase an old song: 33 days on the road and I’m gonna make it home tomorrow!

Thanks again for ‘traveling along’ with me and for all the comments and notes I received along the way.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Downtown Canon CityDowntown Canon City
Downtown Canon City

Canon City reminded me of my hometown, Camden, SC. I enjoyed my drive along the 'backroads' from Colorado to Kentucky. I went through several neat little small towns.
Corvair in Canon CityCorvair in Canon City
Corvair in Canon City

On Friday I saw several Corvairs, followed two and learned they had a regional event going on last weekend. In honor of Cousin Jeff, I did a 'parking lot tour' of the hotel to see the Corvairs. I thought this Corvair trailer was nicely done.


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb