I Think We're in Kansas Toto


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Wichita
February 14th 2006
Published: February 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wichita Kansas Hotels



The first family reunion I ever went to was my last family reunion. Each year on Cinco de Mayo my distant relatives all get together and celebrate our family history and catch up on everything. My father had never wanted to go to these things when I was younger and I never understood why.

When I got the invite on my 28th birthday I was intrigued and so was my wife. She wanted to see what my other family members were like. She had met my cousins and grandparents, but that was the extent of it. I was curious as to who these people were as well.

So off we went to Wichita, Kansas where it was being held that year. Wichita is one of those cities that is nice to visit, but I’m not sure how those people live there. We stayed at this nice hotel called Scotsman Inn that ended up being are escape from my extended family.

The reunion was held at some great uncle on my dad’s mother’s side at this large mansion. From the outside the family seemed normal. Once we got inside we saw how they really were. As soon as we walked in we got questioned about who we were and when they found who my father was they asked why he never came to these reunions. Question after question and critique after critique. It was total family war. It made me wonder why so many people showed up for this abuse. Family sucks.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb