Scott City, KS -- No Fine Dining


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Scott City
May 19th 2004
Published: May 19th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Part 2: Staples Remodel -- Garden City, KS
Garden City, KS -- Staples Remodel -- May 19, 2004

Scott City Trip

I had a happy surprise yesterday. Kelly drove from Wichita to Garden City, KS where I'm working this week. He had the day off and he loves to travel in his new car. Three weeks ago he bought a 2004 Hundai Elantra. It's a beautiful marroon color, and has a sunroof and an awesome stereo.

He had to talked to his dad and step-mom who live in Scott City, KS (about a half-hour from Garden City) and told them that he wanted them to meet me. He wanted us to go to Scott City for dinner, but they didn't have any nice restaurants so they decided to come here. We ate at Applebees. When we got there he introduced me to John and Cheryl Kern. We got to know eachother a little while waiting for the food. Everybody really enjoyed their meal. His parents were both very friendly people. After we ate we all went outside to look at Kelly's car. They hadn't seen it yet. They both liked it alot and teased him about it having (imaginary) scrathes already. Then they left and went back to Scott City.

Kelly and I drove around Garden City looking for the big pool. They supposedly have a swimming pool the size of a football field, but we didn't find it. Then we went to a liquor store and I bought a six-pack of Smirnoff Twisters, but didn't have time to drink any. (I wanted to get some alcohol because Suzy says it helps her sleep and I wanted to try it because I haven't been sleeping well.)

We were bored. Kelly suggested we drive to Scott City and he would show me around. One of the first things you see upon arriving there is the Scott City High School where his dad works as a sports coach and his step-mom does para-education. The football field has a large fierce-looking beaver statue looming by one of the goalposts. Bet you can't tell what their mascot is! We drove by the bowling alley, a liquer store, a bar, several convenience stores, and a few fast food restaurants. They actually still have a Gibsons retail store! There's also a Christian book store. The few small neighorhoods seemed very nice.

Then we went to their house. It was immaculate outside and inside. We went in the door that leads to the kitchen. Everyone that enters has to take off their shoes - they want to keep everything clean! Cheryl has real sense for interior decorating. Kelly told me when they bought the house it didn't look anything like what they wanted so they "gutted it" and remodelled it to their liking. It looked very nice. His dad is in to Norman Rockwell and has prints hanging in every room of the house. He pointed them out to me and told the story behind each one. It was very interesting. I also saw pictures of Kelly and his brother and step-brother and sister. Then we all went into the livingroom and chatted a little bit more. It was getting late and I had to work the next day so we said our goodbyes and drove back to Garden. He dropped me off at my hotel. I think he drove back to Wichita, but I don't know for sure. I didn't see him today.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb