breck's blog: part two


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Iola
August 6th 2009
Published: August 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ahh roosters. Nothin' like a 5 a.m. wake up call. A quick oatmeal breakfast, and we were off to hike to the garden. The trail wound up steep, muddy inclines, a coconut grove, and more inclines. We took a couple "GORP" breaks before the final 10-minute climb to the gardens. Total, it took us about an hour and a half to get there. As Lily, Rean, and Justin squished around picking various veggies, the rest of us sat and talked. After, we climbed back down to a resting place and ate lunch. Lily cut square leaf plates out of taro leaves, while Sher scooped rice & beef portions onto each plate. Coconut milk was the beverage of choice. The descent was much quicker than the climb; a snack of tiny bananas awaited at the bottom. Once back at Lily's house, we were once again presented with an island dress (red this time), a colorful island basket, and a lavalava (wrap). We presented the family with a wind-up flashlight ("torch") and a beach ball.

At Sher's house, I whipped up a quick batch of dutch oven no-bake cookies ("biscuits"), while Lily and Sophie made the preliminary arrangements for the evening meal. Conveniently, Sher and I went on an egg hunt while the chicken was chased. We walked through a grove of trees to secure a truck ride the next day, and then down the road to a couple different stores. Eggs were found, as well as, mail. We carried 5 (maybe?) boxes that were mistaken for Justin, but were indeed Justine's. One was for S & J from Justin's Uncle Jim & family. I got to meet the infamous post man, as well as, a few other men of the village, all offering a big smile and an eager handshake.

Back at the house, the chicken was wrapped in leaves w/ white & purple taro & island cabbage, topped with a thick coconut sauce, and baked under hot stones. Justin and Rean ground kava while Mom napped. Little did we know, the kava was actually being ground for our consumption. Uncle Travis and I were selected, somewhat forcibly, to drink first; my mistake was smelling it before drinking. I only managed half a shell. A few others drank, as well, and then we headed to the beach as dinner continued to cook. Sophie dug little, white crabs up from the sand, as the sun went down. The kava was still in effect; a numb feeling, and not one I liked too well. It also made my senses super sensitive. But oh well, it was part of the experience, right? It was dinnertime. The meal was split about ten ways; anyone who helped in it's completion got a portion. My no-bakes were a most delectable dessert.

No alarm of fowl nature the next morning, just a pancake breakfast. Around 10 or so, the truck came and we piled in. A 45-minute ride took us to the trailhead to Big Water. The falls seemed to go on forever, very much like an outdoor water park. We tramped about as an inch or so of water rushed over our feet. Mom even came along with her own personal guide. Sher and I thought that pretty brave of her, we were proud daughters. Uncle Travis set his sights on a picture of a flying fox, which he successfully captured.

After we explored for an hour, it was time for the big jump. Our guide jumped first, Crocs and all, then Sher. As I stood above them, I started talking myself out of it. They had hit the water pretty hard! As my heart beat faster, Grandpa Brock popped into my head, "I just think you oughtta jump." So, I took a few steps, closed my eyes, and screamed. Falling is fast and slow at the same time. I felt like a bullet when I hit the water; Sher had told me that if I didn't know which was was up, just to relax my body and let it naturally float to the surface. I had plunged pretty deep, but had no trouble frog-kicking my way to the top. The jump had definitely taken my breath away! My lungs felt crushed. As I tred water, trying to grasp what I had just done, Sher kept asking me, "Are you ok? If I turn around are you going to be ok?" I was a little dizzy but managed to follow as we swam in the direction of the bank. The pool was cool and refreshing, and freshwater. A nice treat.

We swam a little more, snapped a few photos, and then headed back to the trail. The truck took us first to see where Big Water flowed to the ocean, then to a nearby church being built, and then on to Justin's host family's village: Kaivo. We received, for the last time, island skirts! Sewn by Justin's fufu, Rose, and very cute. After a little talking and snacking (on purple laplap...), we headed to watch a skit being performed by men from Ambae. It was spoken in Bislama, but we understood the basic message regarding life's temptations and turning to church. The children sang praise & worship in between "acts" with some awesome choreography and energy. Justin's host mom came and told us that rain was coming, so we decided to start our walk back to Gambule School; she sent fresh bread with us. Forty minutes later, we were back and had pasta cooking. Spaghetti for dinner. We had noticed that morning that the sea was looking pretty rough, and it's unrest continued into the evening. That night, we watched "The Dark Knight" on S & J's computer.

The next day was a lazy day. Justin cooked taro/veggie hash for breakfast, a yummy, somewhat familiar meal. Mom, Sher and I combed the beach for shells and called Dad! Justin made, what we thought, were fancy schmancy cashew tuna rice cakes for lunch. Served of course with a few sliced peppers and sprinkled with soy sauce. If you've been keeping up with the blogs, you should recognize this nifty little entree. And it was good. So good, that I in fact took a three hour nap after. Uncle Travis, Mom, and Sher walked to a nearby waterfall (the air conditioner if you've seen videos), and around the village. When they returned Justin (who napped as well) and I were listening to my latest mix of newly released singles from the U.S.

As the sun began to descend, Justin called to double check the boat appointment (with the same boatman as before), only to discover that he believed the sea too rough to transport the next morning. But, Justin went right to work, along with a few other men, to find us another option. Sher and I kept Mom's mind busy as we showered, packed and cooked supper. Justin came back with many alternatives and phone numbers...but not just for the boat. For me. Now, everyone thought this highly humorous, except myself, who indeed was blushing. Good thing it was dark outside. Fortunately, we found a new boat, the one of Lily's choice/approval, and planned for departure at 5 a.m. We enjoyed leftover spaghetti, and...CRAB. Lily brought it cooked, over rice, for us to try. Peace, love, and crabs.

Adrenaline had us up and ready to go in the morning. 5 a.m. came, but the boat did not. Lily and Sher walked to his house, to find the boatman asleep. He had seen that it was still dark, and headed back to bed. Oh Maewo. Just as the sun was coming up, he cruised into the bay...in a metal speedboat. We tucked our luggage safely underneath a tarp, said our goodbyes to Sher's host family, and pushed off. We first headed down along the shore, to try to find calmer waters. The sea was black and rough. Four of us huddled in the middle seat, while Uncle Travis gallantly braved the front seat. Justin switched with him about halfway to relieve his back and backside. We broke the waves super hard. As we worked our way across the channel, Sher talked and Mom counted the rivets on the boat floor. Not going to lie, I was pretty scared. Our boatman knew the water, and assured us, "No worries..." As tears began to fall a second time, I looked up to the slowly evergrowing Ambae, to see sailboats. I will never forget those white sailboats. Relief washed over my already soaked body. As we approached the bay, the water became glassy smooth; Sher called the airport and taxi to inform them of our arrival. We unloaded our belongings and exited the vessel slowly. The truck came, got gas, and headed to the airport.

Goodbye is hard. We checked our luggage and anxiously awaited the plane to land. I don't think I've ever wanted a plane to hurry and wait as much as I did that morning. I sat in between Mom and Sher, passing the Kleenex's back and forth. Once on board, we sat, drenched in salty tears and salty water. Less than a half an hour later, we arrived at Santo's airport. At first, we three kinda just stood there. It was barely 10 a.m. and already we had been through an adventure. As we had a long layover ahead of us, we took our time "cleaning up" in the bathrooms. I had salt crusties on my forehead. A quick coffee break, and we taxied into Luganville. Our driver was soo cool! He cruised the main strip, pointing out various attractions, then dropped us off towards the end so we could work our way back. We hit the market, and a couple stores before stopping for lunch. After we ate, we again headed back to a couple stores, the internet cafe, and then to wait loyally for our "Fantastic Three" taxi driver. Sure enough, here came his little lime green car. As we headed back to the airport, he chatted with us again, pointing out property begin bought up by Australian travelistas. We still had a few hours to lounge about, reading, napping, whatever. The plane came, and we were again in Vila. We walked a block to La Casa, a restaurant, ate "Oriental Pizza" (very delicious indeed) and...(there's always an and) CHOCOLATE MOUSSE. I have to say, this may have been the best chocolate mousse I have ever eaten. Our trio took three, very salty showers, and slept.

We spent the next day in town, shopping and eating as our hearts desired (this included an American Cafe, Jill's, and the ever awesome Numbawan Cafe, with fun food and smoothies). We met a few more PCV's and talked with them. A late afternoon flight took us back to Auckland, NZ. Over the next day and a half we explored Parnell, the oldest suburb of the city, as well as, downtown Auckland. One stop was the Auckland Art Gallery. We ate absolutely lavishly...(there was a 'Chocolate Boutique' directly across from our inn). Another early evening flight, but this one wasn't of a short nature. We cruised above the Pacific through the night, and landed thirteen hours later in Los Angeles. I think we slept maybe 5 hours between the three of us. But each had a personal tv screen in front of us, with endless movies, music, games, etc. Uncle Travis parted ways with us Larson girls at the Southwest terminal, and we again had a couple hours of a wait. Mom ate a lunch of McDonald's fries and M&M's. What an all-American girl. A three hour flight took us to KCI, where Dad stood waiting. I gave him a big smile, wave, and hug.

All the way home, we talked endlessly of our travels. I devoured a sub sandwich, complete with banana peppers (I had been craving them!). And soon enough, we were pulling into our driveway and giving Abi a big hello. Back in my bed, I slept through the night. Over the next week, Mom and I had some pretty interesting sleeping patterns. We fell into a funk of sleeping in super late, catching up with family and friends in the afternoons and then attempting to sleep at night. It was on more than one occasion that we sat in our front room reading/computering at 3 a.m.

We were away for two and a half weeks. It seems like a long time, but we packed the trip so full that the time flew by. Each moment brought a memory. I came away with a different perspective on myself, other people, and the world we share. The United States is so fast. I find myself appreciating the little things in life and the people I'm spending it with. I miss Sheridan everyday, but now that I've seen what she sees each day, I wouldn't want her anywhere else. Those people needed her to come and share her knowledge and energy. She is influencing so many lives and making such a difference in such a simple way and lifestyle. I'm lucky to have been able to go, but I'm even luckier to have such a sister.

- Brecken


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb