Day 4: I found my Marbles and a Henge in Kansas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Hutchinson
June 11th 2014
Published: June 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post



The day started at the Moon Marble Company Store. Not a lot to see here other than a ton of marbles of all colors and sizes. They also sell a bunch of other junk that your kids will want you to buy. The cool thing is that they have a Marble artist demonstrate how to make a marble.




TRUCKHENGE



Well I'm not so sure it's really a Henge... to me a henge is a grouping of objects displayed in a circular fashion. A henge should also have objects placed horizontally between two or more vertical objects. to me this is an artistic display of objects. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed Truckhenge and I think it is very well done, I just wouldn't use the word Henge. So anyways, when I arrived I found a locked gate and a sign that led me to the house down the road. The creator of Truckhenge was not available but his wife was more than happy to take me on a tour of the property. A friendlier tour guide I have never met. Not only did she show me Truckhenge and several other artistic displays, but also a vast collection of chainsaw art and to top it off she even gave me a full tour of the inside if their house which is also quite an artistic en devour. This was definitely worth the stop and I would love to return sometime while they are having an event on the property (they have a concert stage in the Backyard). Make sure you follow the link to the additional photos to see more of Truckhenge.

I also stopped at the Air Combat Museum. I was here 7 years ago, It's a decent Museum but not worth going out of your way to see it.

For dinner I went to Wild Hog Pit BBQ. Finally, some really good BBQ. Ribs, Brisket, Sausage, Slaw and Fries. Everything was good and they didn't run out of anything.

More Photos

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.088s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb