leaving, home, and leaving again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa
January 18th 2007
Published: January 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dubliner!Dubliner!Dubliner!

The girls at the Dubliner, with complimentary shots from the owner
So, yea it's been a while since I posted. Thought I should update you all before I start my next adventure.
So, I left H-berg and all it's wonderful glory. I'll never forget my time there, or the people I met. All around an amazing experience and I worry slightly that this next trip will not match up in the magnitude that was H-berg. Sigh. 7 of us interns had an amazing blowout on the last Friday in town, filled with beer and downtown, dancing, drinks with fireworks in them, MP cars, and a little crying to wrap up the night. AO and I spent the next few days traveling between anyone that would house the lost interns, such as Denny (AO's teacher) Carol, and G. Good times were had all around. Denny took us to the airport and dropped us off, and the flight to Chicago went without a hitch. However, we landed in Chi-town a little late, and then baggage took forever, and by the time I got out of customs I would have never made it to my flight. But it didn't matter as my flight was cancelled anyway. It was supposed to come out of Denver, and
SnowmanSnowmanSnowman

Yep, we found a snowman on one of the Christmas Market stalls.
didn't. So I hung out in the airport for 6 hours, with 100 other people on stand-by to Omaha. One name away from getting on an earlier flight, I ended up first-class to Omaha, but was way too exhausted to enjoy it. Needless to say I was up for over 27 hours by the time I dragged my feet up to meet my parents in Omaha.
Christmas was great, hanging out with family and drinking kind of a lot of alcohol. Got to spend some time with Nick and J which was great, and Oh! I'm going to be an aunt! We found out the first week in January, and Jessica is due on Sept. 10th. Who would have ever thought that Nick would be the first one to get married and have kids? Not I, but I'm stoked for it nonetheless. Babies!
New Years was pretty nice, Ragan (cousin from Wyoming) came to visit, had fun at Mel's, played Mario Party and got stranded in Iowa from snow. We chilled with the parents, played games, and drank home brewed beer to ring in '07
I went on a fantastic trip to Cedar Falls to visit friends and get some
funny hatsfunny hatsfunny hats

Carol is amazing, and she has silly hats by her entry. So we of course tried them on.
Camp stuff cleared up. I got to do most of the things on my "list of things to do in CF" except for Steak 'n Shake which was closed, lame. It's sad I won't see those people again for a long time, as most are graduating this semester anyway.
So, I head back to Germany on Jan. 21, to head to Baumholder for my internship. I haven't really learned too much, just that we are living in family housing about 20 min. from base, and I will hopefully be working with 3-5 year olds. I'll see when I get there.
For now I am just squeezing in more time with family and the few friends that are still around CB, and dreading packing. My time at home has gone so fast, I can't believe I am heading off again. Thanks to everyone that made my time at home wonderful, and don't worry, I'll try to keep you all informed of my travels abroad! If I have computer access...
Tschuess!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

amarican gothicamarican gothic
amarican gothic

Yep, she has a giant fork too
coffee and croissants coffee and croissants
coffee and croissants

G took Mel and I to an amazing French cafe that had the best croissants ever.
christmas treechristmas tree
christmas tree

its tradition. even though Jessica hates it!
New Years with home brewsNew Years with home brews
New Years with home brews

Ragan and I. I'm sure he did something to deserve that face
MelMel
Mel

yep, Ragan and I chillin at Mel's, and she forsure has a choker hold on me.


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb