Twenty-eight days, four countries, more modes of transportation than I can count...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa » Cedar Falls
June 6th 2007
Published: June 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, my trip has finally come to an end. It felt a little bit like the season finale of "The Amazing Race." When I landed in Cedar Rapids yesterday and cleared security I kept looking for Phil Keoghan to greet me with a large check, but he wasn't there. However, I was greeted by three beautiful ladies who were cheering just as loud as the crowd of "eliminated" contestents would have had it been a final episode of Amazing Race.

It was a long trip, and it took its toll at times - sometimes physically, often mentally and emotionally. But it was worth every bit of it.

I didn't do anything TRULY exotic on the trip (if I think that Russia was a culture shock, I can't imagine what a trip to India or China or Bolivia will be like). However, in my 28 days I experienced several cultures - some at their high points and some at their low points - took in sights I never thought I would be lucky enough to see and learned just a little bit about who I am and what is important to me. I think I said it in an earlier blog, and I will say it again. I am so VERY fortunate to have the opportunity to travel like this. Many in this world aren't as fortunate. Heck, many in our country aren't this fortunate. If I learned nothing else on this trip, I learned how fortunate I am.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb