All my bags are packed, I'm ready to go


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana
August 29th 2007
Published: August 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Eek! Three suitcases later I realize that I've overestimated the size of my luggage and underestimated the size of my Madrid and the Mediterranean wardrobe.

I set up this travel blog because I'm going to be all over the place for the next 3-4 months and this is an efficient way of letting everyone know which country I'm in and what I'm up to. I'll be based in Madrid for the fall semester of my junior year. There are about 35 other American University students doing the Madrid and the Mediterranean program with me.

Yesterday I received an e-mail of my schedule for the next 3 weeks, but that's all I've been given until I arrive in Madrid. I'll be staying in Madrid Saturday night. On Sunday I leave Madrid for a two week Spanish immersion course at Granada University. From Granada, my group sets out on our first excursion, Barcelona. In mid-September we'll head back to Madrid to begin classes. Word on the street is that our Greece and Turkey excursion begins September 27th and that our Rome excursion begins November 5th, but I haven't officially heard anything. I'm planning on making it to Paris for at least one long weekend (just to make Clare, Bryan, and Emily jealous). I have a fall break in there somewhere so I'm all ears if anyone has any suggestions. Let me know if any of you will be making it to my side of the pond in the next few months so a rendez-vous can be arranged!

Once I get to Madrid I'll post my new cell phone number. It's free for people to call me, but nine cents a minute for the person calling me from a landline with an International Sprint calling card. I'll be living with a Spanish family and (hopefully) Amanda Glensky, a friend of mine. However, we'll receive mail at our school address.
Student's name
c/o American University Madrid
Dr. Mariah del Carmen Caballero
Comandante Zorita 4
28020 Madrid

My first Spanish adventure actually started this week when I was frantically trying to reach the consulate in Washington, DC where my passport was being held for the visa process. After six week of waiting, my passport was sent back to me today with less than 48 hours to spare before my flight to Madrid takes off. Lesson learned: Spaniards don't really work in August and even if they do they're going to do it at their own speed.

Alright, time to at least attempt to condense my luggage. I'll keep you all posted!


Advertisement



30th August 2007

meg in madrid
i intend to comment on each and every blog you post. i told some people last night about the spaniards not working during august and they were very impressed with me trivia. keep up the good work, miss you already.
3rd September 2007

So I'm very excited to hear of your madrid happenings. I miss you already. It's just not the same without you here to pow wow with and to keep the boys in line. I hope you made it ok and without any adventures like the almost lack of passport. I'll send you a weekly email update on life. Sometimes itll be long and sometimes itll be not. Miss you chica.
4th September 2007

Good luck
good luck in spain and have fun. it all seems very exciting. keep up with this blog, i'm excited to hear what you are up to.

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb