Travels with Snowbirds, Monday August 5, 2013, Hoosier National Forrest, Tell City, IN


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana » Tell City
August 5th 2013
Published: August 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The one about NOW BEING UP TO DATE! No pics on this one, it was easy to organize.

I am going to try to blast drive and be home Wednesday. You might not hear from me..........

I actually slept in. Until 7:30, and laid in for a long while listening to the bugs and birds, and Winston didn’t even bother me. A nice long walk for him and me was wonderful. It is nice being back at a reasonable altitude, 1100 feet, I can breathe while exercising!!! I spent the morning catching up on my blog writing, and organizing pictures. I showered in the bathhouse here, and it was a big enclosed private shower with ultra hot soft water. It was wonderful. Then, duh, I decided to wash the windshield and front of Moya. Not an easy task under any circumstances. Today was challenging. Remember, the front wheels are off the ground about 6 inches due to leveling. I do not carry a ladder. I do have an extension window washer, but the squeegee part is not curved like the windshield. AND, there is no water at my site. I carried my bucket to the nearest water spigot, only a 30 yard walk, filled it with Mr. Clean and scrubbed all the bugs off the windshield. Then I used clean water to rinse. I draped a clean ShamWow over the squeegee and wiped dry as best I could. New water with Armorall Car Wash and a clean sponge and I washed the front, rinsing with another bucket of clean water and the cleaned and rinsed ShamWow. It’s not great, but it’s wonderful!!!! I know I will have to turn on the wiper washer when I start up in the morning, but at least the bugs and blood is all gone.

I tried to tune ABC in for GH, with no luck. I had it last night before I went to bed, and that means I won’t get to see the end of The Bachelorette, either. I don’t believe the trailers……..why would they give the whole thing away like that?

I spent some time with my neighbors. I gave them a book I had used most of my trip, “Free Camping Sites Across the Country. They are just on the beginning of their trip and I know they could use it. She is a crafter, and makes small notes, like thank you cards with fabric, paper and buttons she has bought at Goodwill. PICTURE.

I saw Host Bill and he brought more tomatoes, good man, and mailed a check I needed posted. When I saw him later in the today he was soaking wet from sweat. Seems some brand new campers pulled in with their brand new tent they had never assembled and no instructions. He eventually helped them figure it out, after a few failed attempts. People do dumb things, right?

I spent time catching up on phone calls, walking Winston, and just enjoying the tranquility here. No roads, no wind, no trains, no semis passing by, it was just a delightful afternoon.

I plotted out my course for home, and I sure hope I can do it in 2 days. There is no dumpsite here, but Bill directed me to one on the grounds of the nearby state prison 3 miles away. That ought to be a good picture. I need to clean those bad boys out; I will empty them, put water and chemical in to clean them out, and make one final dump at a rest area on one of the interstates someplace on Wednesday. In order for me to make 300+ miles on Tuesday, I will probably need to spend the night in a Wal-Mart parking lot; campgrounds are few and far between, and the ones that are available don’t take ‘Class A rigs’. Discrimination if you ask me, but what that really means is the interior roadways are curvy with lots of low hanging branches. I will stay away and find a Wal-Mart. The end is in sight. It’s always kind of bittersweet for me, the end of a trip. I have had some wonderful times, saw some wonderful things, but I really would like to be home and not have to go over any more bumpy overpasses.

Kat out

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb