Fly by Night: Twenty Hours in Indianapolis is as good as a two week vacation!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana » Indianapolis
September 30th 2006
Published: October 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Nothing helps put life in perspective like a fly by night trip to a wedding in Indianapolis.

That Friday, I finished up my mathematical obligations, jumped in the old Toyota Pick Up and drove eastward to the large industrial city of Billings, Montana (former Meth Capital of the US) to catch my flight early Saturday morning so I could be in Indianapolis, Indiana for the wedding Saturday night. I stayed Friday evening with my friend Gretchen Kruesi, a stalwart worker for the Democratic Party during this much contested campaign for the Senate seat here in Montana! So early on Saturday the 30th, I drove up to the top of the rim of rock that overlooks Billings and is the nest of the flying metal birds that would ingest me that morning and regurgitate me at the Indianapolis Airport (after a brief stop over in the Twin Cities Airport (Minniapolis/St. Paul)) that afternoon. Leaving the airport I was picked up by my good friends, Jake and Nicole Bouchard. After we sated our appetite and threw peanut shells on the floor like angry monkeys at Logan's Road House we drove to the Hotel that Jake and Nicole had stayed at the day before
ChiaroscuroChiaroscuroChiaroscuro

The sky looked like it may rain all day, but it cleared up completely for the evenings ceremony!
to get ready for that evenings festivities. The wedding was held at a neat Art Museum in Indianapolis and the ceremony started with a Cocktail Hour at 7pm before the actual ceremony at 8pm. The ceremony was outside in a beautiful park by river X (insert actual name of river here) and was itself a beautiful thing. Involving the family of both couples lighting candles, a strand of rope to tie the two couples together by the hands in the celtic tradition of "tying the knot", and some beautiful vows. From there we made our way into the Art Museum where the reception was held and the bride and groom fed each other their first meal. I met some very cool people from Ashville, North Carolina. Sounds like a cool place to go and visit at some point (in case you haven't noticed, the South East is the part of the US I haven't visited yet). The band they had playing in the lobby of the Art Museum was awesome and the couple's first dance was...A TANGO! Amazing. It was a good time. I had a blast dancing up a storm and meeting some very cool people. Later that evening,
Tango TimeTango TimeTango Time

So Sexy, it hurts.
Jake, Nicole, and I went and slept at Tim and Natalies apartment, well they stayed at a hotel getting ready to leave for their honeymoon at a cabin on a remote lake in Kentucky. I did some grading that evening, slept a couple of hours and than Jake and Nicole dropped me off at the airport early Sunday morning before they themselves started the long exodus back to New England (I believe those troopers drove 17 hours with out stopping back to Burlington, Vermont). I flew back into Billings Sunday afternoon with a new persepctive on life. It was this weekend that made me realize my life in academia is done. I'm done being a student, there are much more important things in life than obtaining a degree, or knowledge in a specific subject for that matter. The real gift to obtain from Colleges and Universities is the gift of being able to self educate oneself. This is a gift that I feel, unfortunately most college graduates don't recieve or discover. There are many more important things in life to help enrich ones life. So my new priority in life is my relationships with the world. With people, places, beliefs, ideas, food, nature, and perhaps the occasional ballet dancing rodent in a tu-tu.

One last note before I end this chronicle. I met a very cool man, by the name of "dred" Fred Shields of Primary Colours a non-profit grass roots Art Productions company. We had a nice chit-chat about the state of Art in Indianapolis and how it is developing and that there are some exciting art projects coming down the pipes. Looks like "Art vs Art" will be a hit this year.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Cubby, the Cute Dog With Two Tone Eyes.Cubby, the Cute Dog With Two Tone Eyes.
Cubby, the Cute Dog With Two Tone Eyes.

OR A HELL HOUND IN DISGUISE?! You Make the Decision.
Nice Card Hand.Nice Card Hand.
Nice Card Hand.

Really, I'm looking at her CARDS, really I am...
Three's CompanyThree's Company
Three's Company

I have a strange glint in my eyes, no?
ImplosionImplosion
Implosion

Was the name of this art piece it would rotate in the wind.


13th December 2006

Wow!
Hey Luke! I always wondered what you guys were up to these days! Looks like everyone's having a fabulous time! So nice to see Jake and Nicole, haven't seen you guys in years!

Tot: 0.266s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 87; dbt: 0.118s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb