Can't Remember What It's Like to be Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana » Indianapolis
February 24th 2009
Published: February 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The first time we came to Kentucky, last January, we ended up driving to Indiana for pizza. Today, I drove to Kentucky for pizza, but at least it was on purpose this time. I rented a car and drove down to Lousiville, KY to visit a friend of mine. Amy is from there, but lives in Spokane because her husband is in the Air Force and came home because he is deployed. I was going to see her on Sunday, but it didn’t work out because she has a sick baby, but I got to spend most of today with her today, which was fun.

Let me tell you though, there are a lot of semi trucks on I-65 between Indy and Lousiville! And it’s two-lanes, and they want to pass each other, making it harder for everyone else. And I didn’t know until today that they make cars without cruise control- especially new ones with automatic everything. It was a long 124 miles both ways. But totally worth it!

I got to hang with Amy and Reagan and meet her sister and family. We made lunch. Lots of time to chat, though some of it was done at Reagan’s doctor appointment. I laid on a real couch- not one of the weird ones found in all university theaters. The doorways are regular size and the toilet paper is perforated (the toilet paper at this hotel isn’t- another thing I didn’t know they made.) And most exciting, other than seeing Amy, is that I got a home cooked meal in a real house! It’s funny the things you miss. After dinner, I helped them make cookies and then made the long trek north.

Overall, driving wasn’t too bad, besides the semis. It was a great day, and I’m really glad it worked out for us to get together.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.385s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb