Point of Difference


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana » Indianapolis
February 22nd 2009
Published: February 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


The only purpose of today was to travel, which we did. We drove from Madisonville, Kentucky to Lousiville, Kentucky (which took us into Indiana first), where I was going to meet up with a friend. Unfortunately, her phone has been dead and it didn’t work out for us to connect today, but I’m hoping to go down sometime this week to visit. Then up to Indianapolis. We’ve got a few days off here, and we’re in the same hotel we were in last spring when we were here for a few days off.

All of us have been starved for a church service, so Kyle found us a church with an evening service. I was a little hesitant about what kind of service it would be- my church is by far the least “traditional” out of the four of us, but I went in praying I could learn something and enjoy it. Unfortunately, I didn’t do so well with that. Sarah asked me a few weeks ago if I could read a hymnal- as in follow the music and repeats and things- and I said, “yeah, but why would I ever need to?” Today, I did. All of the songs were out of the hymnal and there were no instruments of any kind, unless you count the pitch pipe. As Sarah pointed out, though, it was pretty cool that the whole congregation (at least 50 people) could read music and harmonize pretty well, once they found the notes.) The preaching was done with a million zillion quotes from random people I’ve never heard of and then almost every scripture in the Bible, New King James Version, that is. I really tried hard (honestly) to follow, but I had to ask Kyle what the preacher’s main point was after service. Thank goodness for podcasts, though!

Each time I go into a church different from mine, which is most of them, I try my best to be open-minded and get something from it. After all, those people worship the same God I do, and He loves them just as much. Sarah has told me before that it’s an area I need to grow in, and I agree, but some days it’s really hard. Especially when my soul is thirsty for something familiar.

We hit Steak ‘n’ Shake for dinner afterwards and had a lively discussion about when we were born and when our brothers were born. (On all three tours, all the people on crew have had only brothers.) It was right then that I clicked that most people are not like me- they’re small when their siblings are born, so they don’t remember much and were more out of the loop, and maybe weren’t even at the hospital.

I finished book #6 today in the car, and am hoping to finish 7 tonight or tomorrow. (I was reading two at the same time, so I have a good jump on this one.) Hopefully the new ones I ordered will come in with the mail on Friday, or else I might have to go to a store and buy one. We have quite a bit of time off, so I’m sure that will be the case.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.372s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 17; qc: 71; dbt: 0.1946s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb