I love college towns!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana » Bloomington
March 22nd 2008
Published: March 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Indiana University, located in Bloomington, IN, is one of the best music schools in the country, or maybe even the world. It was really great to see it. I have a friend who is a piano performance major there, who I met while in Vienna, so I went to visit her for a few days during my spring break. I got to hear a lot of piano music, of course, while hanging out with her! We went to a John Adams concert, which was pretty amazing (China Gates, Phrygian Gates, and Hallelujia Junction for Two Pianos were played -- I had only heard of Phrygian Gates) as well as a master class for some people entering a competition to play the Brahms Piano Concerto no. 2 (the really well-known one... and *very* scary and hard one!)

My violin teacher is an alum of IU, so she was excited that I was going to see it. I saw her old dorm, and also saw Mother Bear's, which is a pizza parlor across from the music school, which has been around since the 60s or 70s - my teacher always used to go there, so she told me to make sure I
HahahahaHahahahaHahahaha

We couldn't believe that Baywatch is still on t.v.... wow.
ate there once.

The funny thing is that even though IU is such a well-known, great school, Bloomington is very underrated. Not many people would think "Bloomington, Indiana" right away when trying to think of cool, cultured towns around the US. Bloomington is definitely one of them, with tons of cool little restaurants, shops, libraries, statues... etc. I suppose it is like most college towns, in that it is just awesome in general.

The traveling part of the trip was not the most fun part, but while I was actually there, it was great. Going from Minneapolis to Indianapolis took about thirteen hours, due to weather. So I was in the Chicago airport for about seven hours waiting to get on a flight to Indianapolis. I finally did, and when I got to Indianapolis, my luggage was lost, and I missed the shuttle to Bloomington by about two minutes and had to wait another two hours to get on the next one. Going back home, my flight was canceled; therefore, I had to get on a different flight, which meant staying in a hotel in Indianapolis in order to get to my 5 am flight yesterday morning. It was my first time in a hotel by myself, though, so that was kind of fun.

Anyway, the point is: all that was worth it, even for just a couple of days in Bloomington, because it is a fun town, and I was really happy to see my friend Alana. I also got to briefly see my friend Audrey, who was also in Vienna when we were.

My roommate is going to I.U. for grad school in vocal performance, so it was nice to see where she's going to live. Now I'll have another excuse to visit Bloomington again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Vernal equinox = actually spring.  Who knew?Vernal equinox = actually spring.  Who knew?
Vernal equinox = actually spring. Who knew?

Yep. I came home to a blizzard, on March 21st. Seeing flowers in Bloomington reminded me that it's technically spring.
The music practice roomsThe music practice rooms
The music practice rooms

It looks like a cross between a space station and a prison. I guess the prison aspect is fitting for practice rooms.


Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 18; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0922s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb