On the road again!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois
August 16th 2010
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 39.0272, -88.8481

Well, it is time to head back to CA. I didn't want to travel the same old route again, so I decided to head to Denver, Colorado this time. I may stay a day there to do some white water rafting or site seeing. I left at just about 5 a.m., after waking up later than planned due to my phone's alarm not sounding due to a technical problem in the phone. I had to stop near Grant and Main in Peru, to throw out the vomit that Magge up-chucked in her carrier. I then placed her back in the carrier with a new liner. I then headed to St. Elmo, Illinois. I had planned on visiting a Native American store there. I got there at 9:00 a.m. when they opened, but when I looked at my phone, it showed 8:00 a.m. I had forgotten the time zone change when I crossed into Illinois! I drove up I-70W about 10 miles to grab some Burger King breakfast, and then headed back to the store to wait until they opened. I haven't been to this store in a while, but they have some nice tourquoise jewelry and carpet rugs. However, when it came time to enter the store, I discovered it has been actually 4 years. They expanded the store, got rid of the carpet rugs, and had very little in tourquoise jewelry. I picked up a wedding anniversary card for mom and dad, and left very disappointed in the new merchandise they had. Many of the items were not made by Native Americans. They had way too many items that were cheap knock-offs or just too touristy. I then headed toward Denver.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb