Kiss the Ground Goodbye! Fly High at Six Flags Great America


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Gurnee
June 30th 2007
Published: November 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Welcome! Ready to throw up?Welcome! Ready to throw up?Welcome! Ready to throw up?

Counting 1..2..3..4..5..6.. Six flags...
My officemate gave me a can of Coke which has this written on it: "Take this can to Six Flags Great America before July 4 and get $20 off." Good thing, my smart friend bought group tickets online and we saved $25 instead of just $20 for the entrance fee!

As early at 8 am, we left Evanston and drove to Gurnee again. This time, we're heading to Six Flags Great America & Hurricane Harbor. I thought I knew what to expect, since I have enjoyed Six Flags Magic Mountain in California years ago. But I had a different kind of fun this time. Here's my quick list of fun notes:


Hurricane Harbor




It's the best waterpark I have been to! Oh, maybe the only one I have ever been to that has these kinds of crazy rides/slides. They have this medium-sized pool with artificial waves. It's filled with people from kids to adults. It's funny to see that much adults wading and playing in the pool like kids! Fun! We took rides where we sit on multi-passenger round rafts and slide down a long series of looping slides then finally crash into the water!
Ahh... finally... the waterpark!Ahh... finally... the waterpark!Ahh... finally... the waterpark!

Six Flags Hurricane Harbor
Fun fun fun! We end up laughing 99%!o(MISSING)f the time! One that scared me during the ride is called Vortex and Typhoon. From about a height of 6 floors, I was asked to lie on my back and wait till the guide (lifeguard) pushes me into the tunnel. I was not scared at all; not until I was finally pushed into the tube that was SMALL and DARK! Waaaa! All I saw was a faint line of light. I can't sit because the tube is too small and I was gushing fast down the tube. In a few more seconds I found myself plunged into the water... Ahhh! I'm alive!


Superman The Ride




Compared to other rides, you don't just sit or stand in an upright position. At the beginning of the ride, as soon as the straps have been locked and tightened, we get tilted to a "flying" position as seen in the picture I took here. It so much fun!!! There's this loop when I felt like going under a bridge then I twist and turn flying upwards! Superb! This ride was not at all stressful like BatMan The Ride. It's very relaxing
The funnel we never get to ride... Huhu... The funnel we never get to ride... Huhu... The funnel we never get to ride... Huhu...

...because the line was too long and we were running out of time
and thrilling at the same time. True enough, as the ride operator says when you start the ride... "Kiss your loose coins goodbye, fly high at Six Flags Great America!"


Dejavu




This ride not only takes you into a 360 loop, you also pause in mid-air on each "tower".


The Revolution




Don't take this! It only made me dizzy! Not fun at all. Unless you're in the mood for some throwing-up action =P


V2 or Vertical Velocity




We waited in line, under the scorching heat of the sun, for almost an hour just to have 50 seconds of sheer thrill! It's like Dejavu, but not standing, and there are no loops, but one has to endure being "hung" in mid-air looking straight down to the ground.


Splashwater Falls



I almost thought this was a kiddie ride. We had to walk inside to see what this ride is about. It's one of those rides you're sure to get soaking wet in splashes more than 20 feet tall! Haha! We are not yet in the Waterpark (Hurricane Harbor) but yes, we did get sooo wet with cold
The Superman RideThe Superman RideThe Superman Ride

We all love this! I feel like flying! Notice our "flying" position... cool noh
water. It's a simple, no-frills rollercoaster ride but, the thrill of getting soaked with 20 feet of splashing water was so much fun!





Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Of Loops and TowersOf Loops and Towers
Of Loops and Towers

You ride these loops and "hang" in mid-air in standing position
The first ride we tookThe first ride we took
The first ride we took

Turns out, it was the longest ride of all that we had that day
The RevolutionThe Revolution
The Revolution

I hated this ride
One of my favorites! Splashwater Falls!One of my favorites! Splashwater Falls!
One of my favorites! Splashwater Falls!

All you have to do is sit back, scream, and get wet!
V2 Ride (Vertical Velocity)V2 Ride (Vertical Velocity)
V2 Ride (Vertical Velocity)

We spent 50 minutes waiting in line for just 50 seconds of sheer thrill!
I want one of those!I want one of those!
I want one of those!

Each of those fish is a long as me


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb