Biking to Chicago Botanical Gardens


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Glenview
August 9th 2009
Published: February 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Decided to bike with a friend up to the Chicago Botanical Gardens in Glencoe.

We got up early. Packed a lunch - lots of water and snacks.

We took the Cook County Forest Reserve Path - 14 miles 1 way.

It was a hot, sunny day out - we were in for a struggle.

Much of the time, we did not know where we were.

This a-hole man passed us. We were mostly doing the passing.

Calling 911



He tried to go through a down tree, fell and could not stand up. He said something was broken. He was such an a-hole. I was the only one see this happen.

I ask him if he is alright - he says no. I ask him what I can do for him. Nothing. At this point, Ross joins us - in the end this ended up being a great thing.

The man tries to stand up but cannot. I advise him that if it hurts, he ought to leave it alone and call for an ambulance. He says no but then concedes. I give the phone to Ross, smile and request he make the call. He calls and thankfully knows where we are.

Ross is very great, calm and we work together well. The man tries to move and cannot. He is in a lot of pain.

Right away, the CC Forest Preserve security comes. They ask me a couple questions.

Meanwhile, this entire time, my friend is 10 feet away wanting nothing to do with this situation. However, everyone thats passes by takes it upon themselves to ask her if the tree fell on this man. I find this entertaining because the last thing she wants is to answer stupid questions.

3 months prior, the two of us were in a bad bike accident. I flew over the handle bars and smashed my face into the pavement bc some woman forgot to stop at the stop sign. She drove away. Also, did I mention she was going 50 mph on a neighborhood side street. To make matters worse, my friend ran me over with her bike.

I give the man my phone to call someone. He says, Ive been in an accident, Im going to the hospital. Then he says, what dont you understand...bye.

The paramedics arrive, they ask me no questions. I stay because Im somewhat invested at this point and really like talking to Ross - he thinks Im funny.

Ross's friends walk the mans bike to the street to meet his wife.

His wife comes down the path wearing a spaghetti strap white shirt with her bra straps falling down. She screams, that's my husband, that's my husband. Now it all makes sense - these people are nuts.

We are mildly entertained. The woman finds out where they are taking him and immediately leaves.

We decide to leave as well after getting asked by the paramedic if the tree fell on him.

We say bye to Ross - I will forever remember him.

Chicago Botanical Gardens



Its going to start raining any minute. We eat lunch.

It starts raining - I hate rain but I don't mind all that much. The gardens are breathtaking. There are a lot of islands - I enjoy this.



We hang out for a while, there are waterfalls and paths.

Return Trip



We return to the path and go home (14 miles).

I see a deer at one point. My friend is getting tireless.

We get home - we made it. We mapquest our adventure. 30 miles. Enough said.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb