RIHLA 26


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
April 17th 2012
Published: April 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Things I Like About UICCP

(A lot of comparing to my old school)



1. Curriculum: We actually learn here. At my old school, everything was from a textbook, and everything was memorized. I love the things we learn about because I can easily see how they relate to the real world.



2. TEACHERS!: For the most part, I have great relationships with my teachers and I love how each teacher is different and has different teaching strategies. All the teachers are helpful and they come to school everyday bright and ready...they get to school earlier than us and THEY don't even fall asleep. I really look up to all my teachers.



3. Culture: Everyone has a love/hate relationship with the culture of the school, and the Noble network in general. I hate it sometimes but I know exactly why the school has the rules that it has, and I agree with it.



4. Up-To-Date: I'm not supposed to use text language in homework assignments, but when I came to UIC and compared it to my old school I was like OMG...TV screens? Motion sensored lights? Projectors in every classroom? Before Mr. Rivera left there was even a technology handyman...that's another thing I love about UIC.



5. Lunch: At my old school there was nothing healthy to eat. Nothing. Gyros, fries, burgers, pizza, every single day. I don't always like the lunches we have but even when I don't, I can always whip up a salad at the salad bar. (happy dance)



6. Strict: I HATE this, but I love it. I like that UIC makes its students take the rules seriously by executing them. At my old school, if you asked me about a rule, I would tell you "Yeah, you're not supposed to do that but everyone does it anyway." I can't say that at UIC.

7. Advisory: I tear up thinking about how much my advisor means to me. Also the girls in my advisory. Even though I had only transferred in last year, they treat me like I've been here all along. I feel so blessed to have become acquainted with my advisory, they're such lovely ladies.



8. People: I honestly was a big loner when I transferred in last year, but this year I became a lot more social. I'm glad I did because there are so many talented, creative, intelligent people. I know we're going to be successful.



9. Being Noble: Whenever I see the Noble logo on other students shirts when I'm on the train, I can smile to myself knowing that we have something in common. Almost all Noble students hate the rules, and it's funny when we chit chat about the petty demerits we got that week.



10. Proffessional: I love this! At my old school the teachers would act like the students...just arguing like little kids in front of the whole class. Teachers at UIC are so smooth about how they do everything..."That's a demerit." and then moving on with the lesson like nothing ever happened. I obviously hate getting demerits but I appreciate how the teachers don't draw a bunch of attention to the students when we do something wrong.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb