RIHLA #26


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
April 15th 2012
Published: April 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Top Ten List



#1-Friends

Here at UIC College prep I was able to make friends that will be life long. These friends all share the same values as me and becasue of that, I know that they are true friends. I was able to find people who are hardworking, caring, and respects themselves and others. I am happy that since I attened UICCP I was able to make these connections.



#2- Teachers

I am very grateful for the teachers here at UIC College prep. I know how hardworking they all are, and how each of them care for the students. It is very rare to find that. If I went to a public school, I wouldn't find teachers willing to staty after school to help me. I am happy that I am in an enviroment that teachers gives so much support and care to each student.



#3- Curriculum

Though it made be hard sometimes, I feel that the curriculum is one of the best things in this school. Not a lot of minorities, like my self, can get an education like this. I feel so grateful to be able to get challeneged and to see beyond just myself and my neighborhood. This school shows students new things and challenged each student in their studies and life in general. These challenges have made me a person that is smarter and more open minded.



#4- Unity

In my old school there wasnt a feeling of unity, it was mor like 'your here, I'm here...lets just do our own thing". This school has a strenght of unity in it. The school shows each student that each person is important here and we are here together making a difference. This unity makes us stronger and closer, not only that but makes us work harder because we all want to show how great of a school we are.



#5- Stirct

This school is strict, and everyone knows it. But...it is strict for a reason. As a senior this year I see why. Life can be anything you want it to be, and I think before everyone got here it seemed like a big party to them. With the rules and the upcoming norms, I believe it made people learn that there is a time and place for everything. I learned that you have to act a certain way in the business world, how inappropriate showung uo to work with a short skirt is. This school teaches you how you have to act in the realworld, and not just run amuck.



#6- Advisory

My advisory is a place where I can express myself. I know some schools have homeroom, but not as long as we have. My advisory has become very close to me...we are like a small family. I think that the the advisory is a place where you can express yourself to some people that know you better or a staff member that knows who you are the best. having a plac like that is beneficial to many people and I think makes high school a bit easier.



#7- Enrichment

I believe enrichemnt has helped me meet new people and helped me form bonds with others. I know when I was in bowling for freshman and sophmore year, I was able to become closer to the students and the teachers.



#8- Safety

This school provides a safe enviroment that not all schools can. I like how you could come to school and not worry about violence inside the school, since UICCP strongly punishes those who do. Also like a few days ago with the gun insident. I appreciated the school sending home and emailing the parents the information on it, talking o the students about it, and making extra procautions to make sure it wont happen again.



#9- Having Music

I know that a lot of schools are not able to hold a music program, and for that each student here is lucky. They are able to take a class that is non-existent to other schools. I think this is great for each student including me. Music helps a person and can show them many things. I think I learned so much of culture through music and I am happy that I was able to do that.



#10- Health/Gym

Even though I dislike gym becasue I dislike sports, I am happy on how strong our fitness level is. I think it is rare for students to have to make requirements in running, push ups, crunchess. This helps our students stay active, which a lot of schools do not do. also, having our health program and being able o take health all for years. This is really something to be thankful for. Our school is strong in health and has helped many students we want to to into the medical field. i think also, just all of us knwing about our own health will benefit us later in life.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb