Rihla #18


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 13th 2012
Published: February 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Part One

1) Castula Celia Macias

2) Mom

3)Decade of Choice: 1970s

4)The community was very close. Everyone knew eachother and helped out. She was able to go out with her siblings to the store without parental supervision because it was safer to back then. She wasnt aloud to really allowed to go out with friends, but she got to hang out after school every once and a while.

5) She mostly played in front of her house.She had four other siblings so sometimes they would play games. They would also feed birds. When she got the chance, she went out for sweets with her friends after school. Also, she played in the playground at the school.

6) Inside her home, there was a gender issue. She was expected to stay home with the other women to cook and clean but she never liked to so she would always try to get out of it. In the United States, women were already gaining rights, and this also refelcted in the household becasue my mom didnt always have to cook and clean.

7) The turning point in this decade for my mom was the fact that she wasnt being treated lie the other women in her family. My aunts had to stay home and werent allowed to , pretty much, do anything. My mom, however, would stand up for herself and question her father. This must have worked becasue he gave her more freedom.

Part Two

1)I think location did have an influence on my mom. She has lived in Pilsen her whole life. I fdefinately think it has made her tougher and a strong person.

2)My location has definatly influenced my action. I too have lived in Pilsen my whole life. I know a lot of people that live in Pilsen becasue the community is so close. I volunteer as much as I can in my community becasue it is home and I feel comfortable here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb