Rihila #14


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
January 5th 2012
Published: January 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Bin Laden Brief:

I thought this picture was significant because it is rare we get ot see what the brains behind the major desicions in our country are thinking. My reaction to this was just curious. I looked closley at every face and body positiontrying to figure out what was going through their heads.

Christians protect Muslims while praying:

This picture stood out ot me for two reasons. Pone the men in the photo look so happy and willing to help. I love to see acts of kindness like this. The second reason is the alarming question that comes to mind-Whay do they need protecting? And wo are they being protected from? After thinking about these questions my reaction was shocked.

Sprayed Pink:

This picture was significant to me because there was so little said about it. We don't know who the men are, who is spraying them, or what the reason. I jumped to my own conclusions and said the only reason i can think of to spray someone with bright pink water is to embaress them or simply identify them(in a demaning way of course). My reaction? Poor boys 😞

Sit-in recipie: Season with pepper (spray):

I was appauled at this photograph to say the least. Of course i wasn't there to witness what happened before this shot was taken, but i can't imagine being that police officer. it seems as if he is spraying those people with such ease. I don't understand why they wouldn't reason with the people first. These people are having a sit-in not a tea party. They are obviously willing to go to jail for their cause. What makes the cops think pepper spray will make them move? it's just cruel.

Education Bullies:

It is rare you see people at this age, young adults, fighting for education. Anywhere else this would be emensly celebrated, but here this child is being punched in the face. This raises questions to me about the politcal state of the country, what they intend for children to do after school if they don't actually have a quality education.

Proof!:

This is my Most significant photo of the year. I think it best represents my whole year. Whn we took this picture a lot of stressful things were going on. I like this picture b/c it just kind of says how you should go about life. Look it in the eye, make a funny face, and just go with it...it's just a proof. If you don't like it, you don't have to buy it just take another one. It is hard to describe how this picture represents my year without telling every single account of it, but this is the best way to sum it up.

Photos in History:

A picture is definatley worht a thousand words, but better yet it is worth a thousand questions. I think historians a re a lot like scientist- The have to ask "Why"? A picture of a sad woman could mean nothing, but a sad women photographed for a commercial encouraging male dominance is a completly different senario. What i mean is pictures can open whole other doors. Historians arent just limited to facts, they can inturpret as well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb