All good things come to an end


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
August 11th 2008
Published: August 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wrap up
Well its been a couple of days since Ive been back and I decided to wrap this blog up. From Ayutthaya I went to Bangkok for a night to be closer to the airport. I didn't really do anything just hung out, and went to see if there was any good shopping at this place called MBK. There wasn't really anything worth buying there so I just returned to my hostel. Next day while I waited for the bus to the airport a homeless man approached me and started begging for some change. While trying to explain to him that I didn't have any, the bus I was suppose to take passed me by. So I ended up waiting for another half and hour to catch the next bus. I got to BKK airport just fine, and with my luck my Ethiopian airlines flight was delayed 2 hours (which wasn't as long as the first time I flew with them). So I waited around for a bit then took off to Hong Kong. We arrived at Hong Kong at about 8pm and I walked around the airport for a couple of hours and finally went to sleep around 2am. I slept in the airport waiting for my flight the next morning at 10am because I was too broke to actually go book a hostel. I didn't get much sleep at the airport , cause I was awoken by the PA system saying that there was a level 8 typhoon. My plane didn't get canceled but it was delayed 2 hours. The flight to Newark was really fast and before I knew it I was there. While arriving at Newark airport it was so weird being back in the US again. I don't know what it was but it was just different. At Newark I tried to hurry but I missed my connecting flight to Chicago and had to catch the next one 2 hours later. While waiting for my flight I saw Kareem Abdul Jabbar (A famous older basketball player that played for the Lakers) getting a hot dog. I didn't get a pic or talk to him, but it was crazy seeing him. I finally arrived in Chicago around 10pm.

Final Thoughts
Well after two months of traveling China, Thailand, and Cambodia I'm back home. Its been kinda weird the past couple of days being back in the states. I seem to have adjusted immediately to the time difference, and after my first night's sleep (which was amazing by the way) it seems like not much has changed back home. Something is different though. I don't know what it is, my brother tells me I have an accent now, some strange phenomenon where I say yea after everything and what my brother describes as a slight Canadian accent. (How did that happen?) Im also told I have lost a little weight. But I also feel different, perhaps its seeing how big the world really is and how much of it I haven't seen yet. Reading through the past blogs of my trip I realize writing these blogs was an awesome idea, it not only lets your friends keep in touch but also lets you look back on all your experiences. I do miss traveling though, I mean it's good to be back home and indulge on Gino's East pizza, seeing family and friends, and having all the luxuries of living in the US (can you say western style toilets?), but I really just can't wait to be back on the road again and see more of the world.

What Ive really learned through my travels is how cool people are and how safe I actually was. I mean when I first thought of taking this trip, many of my friends and family I told were shocked, and thought that it would be very dangerous backpacking alone, but I never felt in danger once. Even while being completely lost on a dirt road in Cambodia it was not dangerous at all and someone would help me out. There were many times where I would be so cautious, while someone approached me, and I was completely wrong. They were just really nice, or just wanted to help. I have also realized that its really the people that you meet that makes the traveling experience so great. Its great to see all of the different sites and locations, but the people that you share that moment with makes the experience all the better. Ive met so many people on my travels, alot of which I don't even mention in my blogs, but were just amazing people. I feel very lucky to have met them and spent time with them. So i guess if there are anyone out there contemplating traveling right now or worried about going alone, I say just do it. The first step is the hardest (just book the plane ticket). Once that's done your set. You will meet plenty of people on your travels, and everything else will just fall into place. I have not met one person that said they have regretted it. Even me right now with 5 dollars in my bank account, and completely broke before school, I would do it all over again (and plan to) in a heartbeat.

Bests
Since Ive been back alot of my friends ask me what was the best place that I went to or what was my favorite. It is pretty hard to answer that question, because all the places were so different, but still amazing in their own right. I will try to compile a list of my favorite places and other things.

Most Fun (no particular order)
1. Ko Phangan, Thailand
2. Yangshou, China
3. Bangkok, Thailand
4. Hong Kong

Coolest places:
1. Angkor Archaeological Park - Siem Reap, Cambodia
2. The Great Wall at Simatai, China
3. Beijing, China
4. The Chill House - Ko Phangan, Thailand


Most Beautiful (no particular order)
1. Around Siem Reap countryside - Cambodia
2. Phra Nang beach - Railay, Thailand
3. Yangshou/Guilin, China
4. Erawan Waterfalls - Kanchanaburi, Thailand
5. Lamma Island/Lantau Island - Hong Kong

Most disappointing
1. Huangshan, China (the rain/fog)
2. Phang Nga, Thailand
3. Ko Samui, Thailand

Top experiences
1. Climbing the Great Wall of China
2. Wondering around and chilling with monks at Angkor Archaeological park
3. Riding an elephant - Kanchanaburi, Thailand
4. Partying in Ko Phangan, Thailand
5. Swimming in the Erawan Waterfalls - Kanchanaburi, Thailand


Items lost/broken: 3 umbrellas, 2 books, 1 cell phone, 1 pair of sandals, 1 mp3 player, 1 set of headphones.

Well that's it guys. As for me, I will be going back to school and work (the real world). I want to thank everyone for reading my blogs and supporting my trip. Happy travels.

Peace


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb