Cleveland to Chicago, Day 4, July 9


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
July 10th 2008
Published: July 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

What's hot: Rock and Roll Hall of Fame


What's also hot: Cleveland is a hoppin' place.


What's not: Gary, Indiana and the traffic jams in and around Chicago


Travel lesson of the day: When living from suitcases, get a first floor room.



from Kathy:

Growing up in Pittsburgh, I always heard the nastiest stuff about Cleveland. (We won't mention what they said about Pittsburgh.) After this visit, JJ gave Cleveland his seal of approval and so did I. I have never been here before and I was impressed by the quality and extent of renewal. The city center, with science center, rock hall of fame, stadiums, skyscrapers, gardens and public spaces--all very well put together, and easy to drive.

Besides, gas prices on the city outskirts were almost $1 per gallon less than Connecticut.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame hit me right in my inner radio station--all those hits from childhood, adolescence, Penn State days. Couldn't help myself, I bought a Bob Dylan album (and a Jimi Hendrix, too).

We saw an innovation that New England needs: solar-powered animal sensors alongside the highways. They flash when animals are nearby.

Gary, Indiana--I won't insult it, it's just that it carries the industrial blight that is created by all of society's demands for goods, power, heat, light, and whatever. Miles and miles and miles of dark skies over factories, power lines, tank farms, refineries ... and we got a long view of it from the traffic jams that plague all urban areas. By contrast, the Chicago skyline sparkles--though we couldn't help but wonder how many gallons of fuel were being burned as thousands of cars sat in a dead standstill for rush hour.



Advertisement



10th July 2008

moving fast
I'm surprised you're already in chicago - and your stopping along the way. Cleveland was better than I thought too some time ago, but it ain't palm beach, or saybrook.

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb