Day 2 - March 1st, 2008


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
March 1st 2008
Published: March 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well hello everyone!
Hey this has been an exciting day for me and my masters! Let me tell you the story!!
First of all, of course, my masters went for breakfast at Bob Evans - and I got to eat--you guessed it--my lamb and rice!
Then we headed out for Rockford, where we planned to stay at the Red Roof there! You will notice how I have to monitor their travels, making sure they are on the right track - ah road I mean!
However, half way there the blower fan on the car ceased to blow! Hmm, presents a little wrinkle in the plans for the day - right? After all it is Saturday and getting service like this is not available at Wal*Mart (we checked!) and so my masters thought that they would have to stay over an extra day here in Rockford and get the car fixed on Monday.
My masters had been praying about the fan problem since we left home, as our mechanic there told us it was going to go on us. But my masters thought that since it was working, that they would delay the $300+ bill until after the trip. But stopping this morning and heading into colder weather and then the heat of Florida, it no longer seemed like something that could be delayed.
Now add to that the fact that my masters discovered that the Motel 6 offered a much better rate than the Red Roof (hey, they even let me stay free and gave my masters a 10% discount - you know, the old guy is 60 now!!). So my master asked if the desk clerk would know of any garages open Saturday afternooon. So after signing in, off we headed for the garage he told us about. On the way, we saw a GMC/Buick dealership. Thinking that they would be closed (now it was 2:30 PM!), they popped in to ask about early service on Monday morning. Wow - the service department was open and within an hour they had the car fixed!!
Now the really interesting thing about this is that when they built our car they chose between two different motors! The dealership had both of them in stock! And then when we were presented with the bill, we were informed that our car took the cheaper of the two motors, saving us even more money!! Thank you Lord! We appreciate the savings on the room and motor!!
In the dealer's showroom, they had a 1948 Dodge sitting there! (see the pic!) I wonder what year my master was born? And I wonder who or what has fared the better? What do you think? I know I have my opinion!!!
After the car was fixed, my masters went to Steak 'n Shake and then stopped at Perkins to pick up some muffins for later this evening. Well, even more surprises!! The muffins were "buy 3 and get 3 free"! But then the lady dropped one on the floor and my masters ended up bringing it home for me!! Hey, not Timbits, but not bad - not bad at all!
Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that I was a hit at the Buick dealership, of course! Everyone thot I was so cute - well, they are certainly good judges of "cute"!! Even if they are mechanics and service reps!
My masters just layed low in the room for the evening, enjoying the muffins they picked up.
Tomorrow we are off to Wisconsin, where we are planning on staying with Blaine and Jeannie, friends of Sharon's from Wycliffe days. They have a dog named Skeezix. Hmm, should be an interesting "caninal" visit!
See you on the other side of tonight! Oh, yeah and we gain an hour today as well!
Woof - woof and a big hug!
Benji


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



2nd March 2008

Great Job Benji!
Yes, you are doing a great job Benji! I am enjoying reading your blogs! Would you please tell your masters to say hi to Blaine and Jeannie for me? I know them too as I was with your mistress in PNG! Love, Joy (from down under!)

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb