eight more days until i move to jamaica!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
October 24th 2007
Published: October 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

14 october sunday
i am in minnesota and...


on the way here, my plane from san francisco was delayed for about an hour because of rain.

apparently my suitcase and soccer bag that were with the checked luggage weren't covered up all the way, because when i got to minnesota...they were soaked through!! thankfully not the whole thing. but a lot of my clothes were drenched and around the edges of my notebooks were water damaged, and the bottom of my stinking laptop was soaked. can you believe it?!

crazy.

but whatever.

i met a couple of friendly older adults with whom i got to talk about what i'm doing in jamaica. the older guy just kept telling me that i'm going to have kids and be a great mom someday and the older lady is stoked to look more into robin's nest and keep updated by reading my travelblog. so that's pretty sweet.

at farmor and granddad's church today, i met some of my dad's childhood friends, a lady who used to guide my blind greatgrandfather around town to sell real estate, my band teacher from 4th and 5th grade , and other people who knew me when i was like, 3 years old going to vbs. my grandparents are so proud of me and the work i'll be doing in jamaica so they tell EVERYONE about it and i feel like i'm bragging by even admitting to what i'm doing. living at robin's nest..."working" there...being in jamaica...to me, it's just my life. but i know that it's much more than that. but i can't help but to do what i'm doing. it's my heart. it's just me, you know? so it was kind of weird to feel all talked up about it, if you know what i mean. i mean, yes, it's challenging, but it's not like it's hard work. it's so natural for me to be there doing that. like breathing. i'm sure you all can relate with that.

last night my dad's cousin keith and i went to this cafe where a band played. when i first walked in and couldn't see who was playing, i really thought it was over the rhine. but that was their only song that sounded like over the rhine. i like sitting and listening to live music so i had fun, but i wouldn't listen to them on my ipod or anything. i liked their overall sound, but they were kind of obnoxious, lyrically...then we walked through downtown excelsior and took the road along the lake to get home. i LOVE this town and i wish all of my friends could visit it. especially the photographers. and especially everyone. i can't put into words what being here is like. partly because SO MANY of my memories are from here, because i grew up just about a half hour away from here so we came to excelsior all the time...ehh, the only thing i don't really like is how cold it gets. duh. like hume winter only a lot more freezing. clearly, i prefer the heat. otherwise i'd be moving to a children's home in russia or something. isn't it cold there?



well. i need to go take a quick nap so i can wake up and have more time to sit with my grandparents talking and all that wonderful stuff.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb