The Tip of the Iceberg


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
March 8th 2007
Published: March 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Due to popular demand (thanks for your support!), I am hammering out this little entry while hubby has very helpfully gone to forage for hot chocolate and croissants! Yum!

Chicago is a beautiful city - architecturally, it rivals NY, but it's so brutally cold! We've had to sightsee in sub zero temperatures and even walk home from a fat tomato-topped pizza through a blizzard! Haven't managed to get down to the iceberged lake because of the weather, but it looks lovely. Apparently, it's called the Windy City not because of the blasting cold, but because of hot air & politicians ...

We're staying in a hotel in the Loop with wonderful views over the neighbouring skycrapers. Lying in bed looking at the light glinting off their glass is a wonderful experience. I've always wanted an apartment which overlooks the Chrysler in NYC - this is near enough. It's damn dark though!

We've managed to see both the Art Institute and Contemporary Arts Museum - both very interesting. There isn't that much to see here - it's rather like San Fran in that respect. A city for living and looking, rather than doing, as NYC and DC are. For that reason, I probably couldn't live here - and the iciness! I need culture, places to hide and inspire me. I think I feel more at home in NYC than anywhere and have found DC such a good home that they're my favourites - although New Mexico has its own astonishments.

We also went for afternoon tea and champagne at the posh Drakes Hotel. I've always wanted to do something so civilised. As you can imagine, there was little to shout about except the affectation - but that was enough! Oh, and the harp player strumming out Beatles hits!

We wandered around the Gold Coast too - lots of tres elegant mansions (including the former Playboy one!). I keep looking out for John Carter or Luka Kovac- those of you who watch ER will know what I mean!!! (I'm fanning myself as I write!)

Better go, as need to get ready - we're flying to Minneapolis today to see our friends, Jon and Steph.

I never want to leave America. When I left DC, Jon told me to come back soon. I will, believe me, I will.


Advertisement



8th March 2007

space scandal/sacking
So I'm expecting the lowdown on the female astronaut sacking and all the rest of the iceberg behind it, when you're back. It made the news here today (Thursday). Ah now! if only you'd had a film crew with ya!
8th March 2007

Greetings from the nappy zone
Hi Sharon! Hope hubby managed to track down hot choc and croissants - though I guess that's history now and you're in Minneapolis! Great journal, very 'walkabout', very Catcher in the Rye? Vicarious pleasure from reading it, you know I don't get out much these days (though I'm not complaining, motherhood is an adventure in itself). Hope all's well, am thinking of you. Love Sallie xx

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0753s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb