Chicago


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
July 4th 2005
Published: July 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

We had so much fun today. We rolled into Chicago early in the morning. I had never been here before so I was really excited to explore the city. We first went for breakfast where I had the best chocolate chip pancakes ever. Then we took the subway downtown. I was super excited to go shopping after not being in civilization for a few days. Ian and I hit a bunch of the shops. I went slightly crazy at H&M, but that place is so cheap who wouldn't.

Then we headed down to see a bunch of the famous buildings. We went to the Chicago Tribune building which is studded with over 120 stones from famed sites and structures in all 50 states and dozens of foreign countries. They range from the Parthenon (Greece) and Taj Mahal (India) to Bunker Hill (Massachusetts) and Mark Twain's "Injun Joe Cave" (Missouri).

Then we walked down to check out the waterway where I saw a really cool building where my friend from work just bought an apartment. We were getting hungry so we stopped for one of the famous Chicago hot dogs. They have a whole pickle, green peppers, and onions on top.

Ian and I met the rest of the group at six down by the park. We were surprised to find out that Moby was giving a free concert. It was great.

Afterwards we made our way down to Navy Pier to see the fireworks and stop off for a lovely dinner.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0872s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb